We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Grosvenor Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grosvenor Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Booked 3 nights via Mr & Mrs Smith and wasn’t disappointed. The weather was wet as expected but that didn’t stop us having a great break. The room was spacious with a huge bed and a roll top bath in the corner. Not able to make use of the balcony overlooking the courtyard but it would be great in the summer. The staff were attentive and quickly sorted out a malfunctioning coffee machine. As well as the breakfasts we ate in on 2 evenings and were very happy with the quality and range of the dishes.

Room Tip: Room 9 (a Junior Suite) overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeddingtonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 447 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

The elegant, newly-refurbished Grosvenor Arms - perfectly positioned in the centre of a surprisingly peaceful town square - is a delightful place to meet friends, to eat, and to stay. The Restaurant is spacious, light, and original in its decor, the service is really excellent, and the food is beautiful. We met for a family Sunday lunch, and were served supreme roast beef, tender and *full of flavour*; we have never ever eaten better! The service was not too formal but really good, nothing too much trouble, but no 'fuss'. The manager was keeping his eyes on everything, so it ran smoothly and to perfection.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Enjoyed a short break at The Grosvenor Arms. We were upgraded to larger room, the first room we were offered was facing the High Street, the next room was facing into the pretty courtyard, large room with walk in shower. Really comfy bed, room clean and loved the drinks machine. Breakfasts were amazing and kept you going all day. We ate in the restaurant, lovely food and a nice atmosphere. Staff very friendly and attentive at all times. Shaftesbury is a lovely place and if you are looking for a relaxing weekend, this is a great destination and plenty of pretty places nearby to visit, should you wish to explore further.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaunyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is a good place for a quiet get away. The decoration throughout is near perfect. The rooms are clean with very comfortable beds. There is a coffee machines in the room with a limited choice of pods that go into the machine. There was no kettle. although there was hot available from reception. The menu had a limited choice however the food was so good and imaginative with sea robin as a starter for example.The staff were friendly and ready to help. The bar and restaurant was very busy in the evenings with locals. During the week the bar area again was busy with meetings, sometimes its was difficult to find somewhere to sit.
This hotel is a good place to stay if you would like to chill out, read, go for a walk, enjoy good food as Shaftesbury's has very little to offer

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

the decoration stands out in this hotel since the moment you get in. everything has been carefully selected with a very good taste. rooms were big and comfortable. very clean. personnel very attentive. Food was excellent for the UK countryside, and I come from Spain!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Pelpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Went here with my girlfriend for the weekend. Lovely refurbished hotel, deifnitely better run than the old management! Room was perfectly clean and the hotel manager gave us a free late check out. Only bad thing about this was he didn't tell hotel staff that he had agreed to this so we had a very rude knock on our door by a teenage receptionist at 11am! After I explained, she was on her way. Went to the restaurant Saturday night, early booking is needed! Food was excellent, prices were very reasonable. Bar can get busy and full of rowdy locals in the evening. Great place for a quiet getaway. Not much to do in the town though, luckily the suite was nice enough for us not to care.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cranbourne Suite - has a fire place. Ask for late check-out Ask for a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cityboy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This little hotel is a bit of a gem. I have stayed a few times now and each time the service has been of a high standard, the bar is usually a little quiet but still friendly and the restaurant has the same high service coupled with good quality food at a reasonable (medium) price. The rooms are well presented, clean and the one I keep staying in has a docking station and a nice coffee maker. Only downside for me is that although WiFi is great in the bar it does not reach to the rooms in a continuous state so drops off. Parking is either on the road for an hour (overnight is OK) or in a local car park with a hotel voucher. A great little hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
24.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,112 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Arms

Address: The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range: $113 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor Arms is newly refurbished, it is traditional yet stylish, relaxed yet ‘buzzy’, and open all day. There are 16 bedrooms to choose from: cosy double, spacious double, deluxe double, balcony double, or suites – each one is beautifully appointed and furnished, decorated in a style appropriate to one of Shaftesbury’s oldest inns, but complete with the modern facilities you expect. You are always welcome, for a drink in the bar, a cup of coffee in the conservatory, or a pizza from the wood oven. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the paved courtyard is always available for an alfresco lunch or drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grosvenor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Arms Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing