We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grosvenor Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grosvenor Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Enjoyed a short break at The Grosvenor Arms. We were upgraded to larger room, the first room we were offered was facing the High Street, the next room was facing into the pretty courtyard, large room with walk in shower. Really comfy bed, room clean and loved the drinks machine. Breakfasts were amazing and kept you going all day. We ate in the restaurant, lovely food and a nice atmosphere. Staff very friendly and attentive at all times. Shaftesbury is a lovely place and if you are looking for a relaxing weekend, this is a great destination and plenty of pretty places nearby to visit, should you wish to explore further.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaunyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    107
    57
    19
    4
See reviews for
54
219
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is a good place for a quiet get away. The decoration throughout is near perfect. The rooms are clean with very comfortable beds. There is a coffee machines in the room with a limited choice of pods that go into the machine. There was no kettle. although there was hot available from reception. The menu had a limited choice however the food was so good and imaginative with sea robin as a starter for example.The staff were friendly and ready to help. The bar and restaurant was very busy in the evenings with locals. During the week the bar area again was busy with meetings, sometimes its was difficult to find somewhere to sit.
This hotel is a good place to stay if you would like to chill out, read, go for a walk, enjoy good food as Shaftesbury's has very little to offer

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

the decoration stands out in this hotel since the moment you get in. everything has been carefully selected with a very good taste. rooms were big and comfortable. very clean. personnel very attentive. Food was excellent for the UK countryside, and I come from Spain!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Went here with my girlfriend for the weekend. Lovely refurbished hotel, deifnitely better run than the old management! Room was perfectly clean and the hotel manager gave us a free late check out. Only bad thing about this was he didn't tell hotel staff that he had agreed to this so we had a very rude knock on our door by a teenage receptionist at 11am! After I explained, she was on her way. Went to the restaurant Saturday night, early booking is needed! Food was excellent, prices were very reasonable. Bar can get busy and full of rowdy locals in the evening. Great place for a quiet getaway. Not much to do in the town though, luckily the suite was nice enough for us not to care.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cranbourne Suite - has a fire place. Ask for late check-out Ask for a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityboy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This little hotel is a bit of a gem. I have stayed a few times now and each time the service has been of a high standard, the bar is usually a little quiet but still friendly and the restaurant has the same high service coupled with good quality food at a reasonable (medium) price. The rooms are well presented, clean and the one I keep staying in has a docking station and a nice coffee maker. Only downside for me is that although WiFi is great in the bar it does not reach to the rooms in a continuous state so drops off. Parking is either on the road for an hour (overnight is OK) or in a local car park with a hotel voucher. A great little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here about four years ago, and it was very good then, so were interested to see the refurbishment. It was done very well and is now more welcoming and relaxed in an up-market way Our room was a very large, nicely decorated room which also had a large lovely bathroom
Good in-room hot drink choices and water, and the complimentary chocolate brownies that we received were so delicious Drinks in the bar were served well to our table by a good barman and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and was very well presented and not over-whelming. Shaftsbury is a lovely little place to visit and not too far from London and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soot30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The exterior is lovely, and as we were guests in December the hotel was decorated for Christmas. The entire decor in both communal rooms and bedrooms is simple and tasteful, clean lines for those who don't like frills and anything over-the-top. The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent and very good value for money. I would agree with some of the comments I had seen earlier about the staff being young and slightly inexperienced, but although there may have been the odd glitch here or there (e.g. when we were shown to our very large suite we had to help the lady who was assisting us to locate the rather hiden lightswitch), the staff were incredibly nice and helpful, so such minor inconveniences were easy to overlook.

I thoroughly recommend it, particularly for a romantic, relaxing weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite was fabulous. Unlike the one shown on the website, we were pleasantly surprised to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlazneira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Arms

Property: The Grosvenor Arms
Address: The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Arms Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing