We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and eat!”
Review of The Grosvenor Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grosvenor Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and eat!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Went here with my girlfriend for the weekend. Lovely refurbished hotel, deifnitely better run than the old management! Room was perfectly clean and the hotel manager gave us a free late check out. Only bad thing about this was he didn't tell hotel staff that he had agreed to this so we had a very rude knock on our door by a teenage receptionist at 11am! After I explained, she was on her way. Went to the restaurant Saturday night, early booking is needed! Food was excellent, prices were very reasonable. Bar can get busy and full of rowdy locals in the evening. Great place for a quiet getaway. Not much to do in the town though, luckily the suite was nice enough for us not to care.

Room Tip: Ask for the Cranbourne Suite - has a fire place. Ask for late check-out Ask for a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityboy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    115
    57
    21
    5
See reviews for
55
229
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This little hotel is a bit of a gem. I have stayed a few times now and each time the service has been of a high standard, the bar is usually a little quiet but still friendly and the restaurant has the same high service coupled with good quality food at a reasonable (medium) price. The rooms are well presented, clean and the one I keep staying in has a docking station and a nice coffee maker. Only downside for me is that although WiFi is great in the bar it does not reach to the rooms in a continuous state so drops off. Parking is either on the road for an hour (overnight is OK) or in a local car park with a hotel voucher. A great little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here about four years ago, and it was very good then, so were interested to see the refurbishment. It was done very well and is now more welcoming and relaxed in an up-market way Our room was a very large, nicely decorated room which also had a large lovely bathroom
Good in-room hot drink choices and water, and the complimentary chocolate brownies that we received were so delicious Drinks in the bar were served well to our table by a good barman and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and was very well presented and not over-whelming. Shaftsbury is a lovely little place to visit and not too far from London and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soot30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The exterior is lovely, and as we were guests in December the hotel was decorated for Christmas. The entire decor in both communal rooms and bedrooms is simple and tasteful, clean lines for those who don't like frills and anything over-the-top. The food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent and very good value for money. I would agree with some of the comments I had seen earlier about the staff being young and slightly inexperienced, but although there may have been the odd glitch here or there (e.g. when we were shown to our very large suite we had to help the lady who was assisting us to locate the rather hiden lightswitch), the staff were incredibly nice and helpful, so such minor inconveniences were easy to overlook.

I thoroughly recommend it, particularly for a romantic, relaxing weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite was fabulous. Unlike the one shown on the website, we were pleasantly surprised to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlazneira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The refurb is excellent, interiors were very tasteful and i take my hat off to people who take on and achieve such projects with such success, especially with ancient buildings - which I am sure came with it's fair share of challenges.

Shaftesbury is a lovely town with some fantastic pastoral views due to it's high vantage point and we went on a great walk suggested by the receptionist.

One of the reasons i was attracted to this hotel for a quick winter break - post numerous family Christmas visits - was based on a website description mentioning an open fire in the bar where i was looking forward to a snuggle up with the papers and few glasses of red. However, there is no open fire and when i mentioned this to the receptionist we were told the flues haven't been installed yet since the refurb so there simply could be no fire. Get a move on i say!

We felt the atmosphere in the bar area was rather flat and we put it down to there not only being no fire but also there being no music, i asked the barman about the music and he said it 'must have gone off' though we'd been there 2 hours without it, and then he promptly ignored my comment. My boyfriend then mentioned it again half an hour later and on this 2nd prompt he then put some music on - in our opinion it really warmed up the atmosphere. Music is so important for atmosphere!
There was no music in the restaurant later and again, i feel in such a large space it was needed to create some ambience, especially as the service was a tiny bit cold which may well have been a bit of shyness from a young waitress, but a bit of warmth and friendliness was missing.

Having said that the female receptionist who greeted us on our arrival was brilliant. Really natural and friendly, and very helpful with an excellent walk suggestion.

The bedroom was great, comfy bed, good bathroom, great decor, but the TV was tiny - simply too small considering the distance from the bed.

Small comments in the scheme of things but all worth noting!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I went to The Grosvenor Arms hoping to arrange a nice breakfast for three of us - one of whom was getting married later that week. I was told that breakfast finished at 9.30am and the only option was cake and coffee. Sadly what was on offer was very poor - muffins or a tired looking cake... and this was the week before Christmas! They are really missing a trick here and should be offering so much more - especially in a revamped hotel. Instead we had a fantastic time in Cafe Indulge in the town - delicious ham and cheese croissants, bagels, crumpets, brilliant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here last month - nice balance between traditional and contemporary design, very comfortable with large rooms and spacious bathrooms, great bar, delicious food and very friendly and attentive staff. And a quickly served breakfast with all the usual trimmings. Most impressed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mengeham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
190 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
15.5 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
13.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Arms

Property: The Grosvenor Arms
Address: The Commons | High Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8JA, England (Formerly Hotel Grosvenor)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Grosvenor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Arms Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing