We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Easy to find after a day's work and a long car journey, which I appreciated. Adequate off-road parking, clean and spacious room. No traffic noise, which was pleasing considering the situation near main roads. I could have walked the few minutes into Shaftesbury, so that would be a bonus for anyone staying more than a night and wanting local restaurants without having to drive. But I could hear the next room's conversation [maybe they could hear my TV too]. Breakfast included fresh fruit which always impresses me. Very helpful and friendly owners. Yes I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
43
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Spending a couple of days in the area walking & geocaching, needed an overnight stop & the Holbrook was a perfect place to stay.
Friendly owners, clean tidy rooms, tasty breakfast, couldn't ask for any more. Would certainly recommend it & wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Late last minute booking whilst out for work.I was tired and got the office to fix me up with something.Better than most Hotels i have stayed in.Very clean,very friendly and very comfortable.I slept like a log.Wished i had to work in the area more often.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just got back from Holbrook b&b at Shaftsbury, i had a really nice time Ian and Di are very welcoming and friendly great breakfast very nice room comfy bed cant fault anything, a good location about 10 minutes from Shaftsbutry

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had a really lovely time staying here on a one night work trip. Lovely people, very accommodating with my late arrival time. A comfy, nicely decorated clean room with busicuits! And a tasty breakfast in the morning.
Would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank FrodoLeavesTheShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Recently returned from Holbrook House, Grovenor Road, Shaftesbury Dorset. Very comfortable room and excellent welcome. Would highly recommend a visit. My husband is disabled and if I wanted to find a problem it was because he has trouble with stairs and there is no lift but the owners were extremely helpful in carrying our luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melinda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night when visiting Shaftesbury. We were made to feel very welcome. the room was large and lovely and warm ... much appreciated as the outside temperature was pretty chilly. The breakfast was top class. High quality ingredients and prepared to order so hot and fresh.
The situation is perfect, easy to find on the edge of town, a short work into the centre and space for cars.
Many thanks ... more than happy to recommend!

Room Tip: We had room 1 ... huge double bed! Spacious and also a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Worthing82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
0.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6 Ivy Cross, Shaftesbury SP7 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holbrook Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing