We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in late July here for one night. Diane and Ian were so friendly - offering us advice on where to go in town. Room huge for two of us and with very clean facilities. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckykatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 143 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days as a family of 4 adults to be close for visiting family in Gillingham. The rooms were spotless. Fresh flowers, extra toiletries, dvd library for room etc. all made for a home from home. The breakfast was excellent and Ian and Diane even gave our grandson breakfast after his mum dropped him off while she went to work! Nothing too much trouble for Ian and Diane and we shall definitely be returning to this b and b and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandSue2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 for 1 month. It was spotlessly clean, quiet & warm & the food was excellent with Diane & Ian being some of the loveliest people anybody could ever meet. Its easy to find within walking distance of Shaftesbury town centre with all its attractions & facilities. I would DEFINITELY stay at The Holbrook Bed & Breakfast again and ABSOLUTELY recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice & clean with a choice of either family room, double, twin or single all with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

One night stay.Enjoyed the lovely evening meal ,desserts and soft drinks. Great breakfast.Every detail thought about.Warm and cosy.Vast collection of complimentary DVDs to use in your TV.Lovely couple who really know the business.I will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I think they would all be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobbszze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here 23 November 2012 to 26 November 2012. This was my second stay here and it was just as good as the first time!

You get a warm welcome and everything you need for your stay. Good quality, clean room, comfortable bed, refreshments, tv, hair dyer (for those that have hair!) and even the little touches such as nice toiletries are provided.

Breakfasts are flexible with a wide range of tasty options available. Simply nothing is too much trouble for Ian and Diane. Holbook B&B is a credit to them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay with Diane and Ian. Though only for one night they gave us a very happy and friendly welcome. The accommodation is warm and spotless and the breakfasts are a real treat with everything on the menu you can think of.
Diane and Ian recommended a really good pub for us to have a meal during the evening and even booked a table for us. Nothing was too much trouble, and we felt as comfortable as if we were staying with friends.

Will recommend Holbrook to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: You always find an excellent B and B in the "Little Green Book"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor Patrici C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I work around the country and have done for approx 20 years and viewing a project in Shaftesbury I came across this B&B. Although it was just for a 1 night stay I would easily rate it one of the most cosy, friendly and clean B&B establishments I have every had the pleasure to stay in. The owners Ian and Diane could not do enough for you to truly make this a home from home. My room had all the current up to date tea making facilities, digital tv and free wifi, there was ample parking and a good selection of take away restaurants and public houses only a stones throw away. The breakfast facilities are second to none and every need or requirement were catered for. Would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone and other members of our company are already booked in for other projects/works that we are carrying out in the area.
King Henry, but only 3 wives

Room Tip: Stop at this B&B, you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
2.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number 5 B&B
Number 5 B&B
#10 of 23 in Shaftesbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrook Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6 Ivy Cross, Shaftesbury SP7 8DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Price Range: $92 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbrook Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing