We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 'retreat'.”
Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaftesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Retreat
Ranked #8 of 23 Shaftesbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 'retreat'.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Do not stay at this B&B unless you fit into a very strict conservative type. This is by no means a 'retreat', they want you up and out of their house as soon as possible. We'd booked a two night stay (Saturday and Sunday) despite only needing one night as they have a two night minimum stay policy. End of the Road Festival recommends this place to artists and management working at the festival and we were there with a band on Saturday night who were headlining the main stage which meant we'd be back very late. We got back at around 1.30am with our children and decided to try to sleep in and not get up on Sunday morning for the 8am-9am breakfast. The owner woke us up at 8.53am knocking on the door to ask if we were coming for breakfast.
At 11am when we thought we'd go out for some brunch then return for our bags rather than leave them in the car, she announced that we needed to get the luggage out of the room because she had sold our second night to someone else and she needed to service the room. Our colleague (who had also been staying at the house) had already settled our bill and apparently the owner had given us a £40 discount over the two nights to compensate for the fact that we weren't able to stay for the second night. This still meant that she had taken £120 from us for a night we were not going to have. She told us that if we didn't take our luggage she would charge us the £40 discount that she'd taken off. Her and her husband were extremely hostile and inflexible. We obviously decided right then and there that we would get our bags and leave immediately. She even grabbed my husband's arm as he went to collect our bags.
Essentially we ended up paying £120 for a late check out of 11am rather than 10am. They took £240 from us to be in their house for a total of nine and a half hours knowing that they had already resold the room. There was never any attempt to reach a compromise and we were made to feel like an inconvenience.
She behaves with a typical small town, conservative attitude and displays false sincerity. There is none of the genuine warmth and hospitality that one would hope for from a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyer172, Owner at The Retreat, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which is valuable even when as in this case, it arises from a misunderstanding. As a result of your concerns we have looked at the way in which we describe our reservations process and information we give clients at the time of making a reservation. It is our sincere wish that as a consequence, we will continue to provide our guests with a warm and friendly welcome for which we have long been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
22
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable and upmarket place to stay in Shaftesbury to see Gold Hill and other Thomas Hardy country sites. it seemed our choice was between La Fleur de Lys and The Retreat. Thankfully, we chose the Retreat. Bell Street is a quiet backwater of Shaftesbury but only five minutes walk from town and Gold Hill. Bernard and Sheena are very friendly with a wealth of local knowledge. The rooms retain Georgian character, are very comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Our first morning we opted for a full - and I do mean full - English breakfast, the second we had scrambled egg and smoke salmon with croissant. Sheena also offered us kippers or fish cobbler. Both Bernard and Sheena were very knowledgable about local (and not so local!) sites to see, and were spot on about the best places to eat in Shaftesbury, which helped us enormously (when you`ve walked up Gold Hill three times the novelty sort of wears off!!). With big, comfortable rooms, very friendly hosts who bent over backwards to ensure our stay with them was as enjoyable as possible, the Retreat is where we will be staying without question should we return to Thomas Hardy country (highly likely!). Nice quiet location, parking no problem, friendly and helpful hosts, very reasonable room rates, amongst some of the most gorgeous countryside I have ever seen in the UK. What more could you want!!! (incidentally, La Fleur de Lys is considerably more expensive and on a main road!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had a very enjoyable stay in The Retreat. The room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and Sheena and Bernard were delightful. Wonderful place and wonderful people. I would highly recommend it and I hops that some day I can visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeanutEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Bernard and Sheena made my family very welcome and their property is furbished to a very high standard. Lovely breakfast too. The property is full of character and within walking distance of Golds Hill and the town centre.

Room Tip: There is a room at the top with a roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this delightful bed and breakfast. Bernard and Sheena were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and my single room perfectly comfortable and very clean. I would not hesitate to recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly3778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at The Retreat whilst passing through Shaftesbury on a sponsored bike ride across England. The owners were very tolerant of all our messy cycling gear, helped us lock up the bikes.

Rooms were very clean and comfy, and a central location so we could head straight out for supper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love hol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjärred
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent a few lovely days in S at The Retreat B & B with the best comfort and well cared for by the hosts, Sheena and Bernhard. Fantastic room and lovely breakfast and we heartily recommend The Retreat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shaftesbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
0.2 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 23 in Shaftesbury
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Shaftesbury
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#3 of 23 in Shaftesbury
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number 5 B&B
Number 5 B&B
#11 of 23 in Shaftesbury
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat

Property: The Retreat
Address: 47 Bell Street, Shaftesbury SP7 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Shaftesbury
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run Georgian townhouse in the level part of Shaftesbury close to the restaurants, pubs & shop's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Retreat Shaftesbury, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing