We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A star well earnt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sienna

Sienna
Ranked #9 of 122 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An intimate, fourteen cover fine dining restaurant. Serving a stylish British cuisine in Dorchester.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A star well earnt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner made the trip to sienna restaurant this evening. Saturday 5th jan .

We were greated with a Warm welcome and chose our table in the corner ..

We had the tasting menu which we highly recommend.

Very well executed clean flavours. Cooked perfectly and complimented each other.

Small and cosy 14 seat restaurant. Very friendly service.

We are already planning out next trip down to eat .. Thanks to everyone who made our evening amazing .

All the best for 2013

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    32
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

As a Christmas treat we went for a meal at Sienna - Opted for the taster menu and so glad we did!!! Each course complimented each other and the taste and presentation was superb!! Canapés to start and petit fours with our coffee as well :) One of our party has a food allergy and the chef prepared fab alternative to one of the courses. Very small restaurant (I think they only seat around 14 people) but relaxed and casual atmosphere and staff very attentive, friendly and informative regarding menu options.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Sienna is a small restaurant which only seats 15 people, meaning that you get a fairly intimate eating experience and a very personal service. The decor is cosy and relaxed and in no way imposing. It immediately feels like a really nice place to be.

This is a good thing because if you go for the highly recommended tasting menu, expect to spend around three hours on the experience. Not that it feels like that – time just flies!

The restaurant is run by chef Russell Brown in charge of the kitchen and his wife Eléna Brown who runs front of house and is the key person in charge of the customers. Eléna makes everyone feel welcome and any special needs will catered for as much as possible, including substitution of ingredients or dishes in case of allergies etc.

We had the tasting menu consisting of canapes followed by seven dishes. On the day, this included artichoke velouté, walnut gnocchi and venison ragout, line-cought cod, duck breast with creamed leek, mushroom crumble and caramelised qunice and a golden syrup and mascarpone mousse with gingerbread and lemon.

Another table had ordered a la carte instead of the tasting menu and one person had ordered a Selvatica chocolate trio for pudding and this looked fantastic. Enquiring about it, I was told what it was and even allowed to substitute my pudding from the tasting menu with this chocolate dish. Very impressive and honestly not something I would have expected as this change was done when the penultimate dish was cleared from the table.

The quality of the food is top notch. Russell Brown selects some great ingredients and knows how to get the best out of them. A couple of things on the menu had me slightly sceptical when reading about them but they turned out to taste fantastic! I always have a great resepect for chefs who take combinations that seem odd and made them work like magic.

Along with the menu you get a list of the carefully selected suppliers. Many of these are local to the West Country and it is clear that working closely with a select few suppliers ensures that you know what you get and can ensure the best possible quality.

The services is excellent from the moment you enter the door until you leave the restaurant again. This evening, the service was provided by Eléna Brown and a young lady, which was entirely sufficient for the 14 people present this evening.

My only small niggle was that the young lady did not present the dishes on serving them to us, but I am sure this can easily be addressed.

The Michelin star for Sienna is well-deserved and I would love to come back another time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jfallesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Another amazing lunch at Sienna. All three courses were fantastic, and all our plates were extremely clean after each course. A very relaxing and enjoyable way to spend a few hours on a cold winter day. Can't wait to return, as this restaurant is always a joy to visit. Great service, great value and delicious food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridport_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch at Sienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous lunch at Sienna. It was really relaxing, and the food was absolutely amazing. It's just that from the outside it dowsn't look like much but the food is amazing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank _lindastill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sienna also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing