We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Happy Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Garden Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Local history and reference books
Compact well-equipped kitchen
Martyrs Sunday Rally
Nearby Athelhampton House
Great Dorset Steam Fair
Hardy's Cottage
Brewery Square Dorchester
Summer time at Durdle Dor
Fine walking country
Picturesque Tolpuddle house
Martyrs' Museum
Local walks
Shaftsbury
West Bay cliffs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
pa s
1 review
“Very Happy Stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful time in this lovely Village, The hosts were very welcoming, the attention to detail in the property was spot on, and we needed for nothing.
Would definable recommend this property and its owners to friends and family, and we hope to go back there in the not too distant future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2015
Thankyou for your positive review. We very much appreciate your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew F
1 review
“Ideal base for Dorset”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in November and though the weather was mixed we couldn't fault Garden Cottage.

Well equipped and decorated (and gratefully stocked with milk and nibbles after a long drive and late arrival).

Very handy location too. We visited Weymouth, Portland, Swanage and Dorchester - all within easy reach.

Thanks Bob!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. We value your comments and hope you might think about staying here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argagnon
1 review
“Postcard from Dorset”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I came across Garden Cottage whilst searching for some centrally located accommodation for our whistle stop tour of Dorset. Luckily this most charming cottage was available. We received concise and clear instructions from the owner on the cottage's location and were greeted most cordially and shown around the property which is located behind the owners residence. Whilst the proximities of the properties are close, the feel of the cottage is very private. Located in the pretty village of Tolpuddle, Garden cottage fits in beautifully with the rest of its chocolate box surroundings. The cottage is extremely well equipped, infact it felt like "home from home" and we were very grateful of the welcoming drinks left by the owners and all the neccessities required to help us with our self catering accommodation. Obviously this fine late September early October weather also only added to a most relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Garden Cottage. We do our best to provide everything guests need. As you say, its central location makes it a convenient place to enjoy what Dorset has to offer. Thankyou for your very positive comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne F
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home comfort”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and found the cottage very comfortable and the Hopkins very friendly owners. The cottage was very convenient as it was close to all the places we wanted to visit i.e. West Bay, Chesil Beach, Portland Bill, Cerne Giant, Thomas Hardy's cottage and Max Gate, T E Lawrence (Lawrence of Arabia) resting place not forgetting the lovely walk around Tolpuddle and learning about the Tolpuddle Martyrs.
We would recommend the cottage to everyone who needs time out to just relax in place which is home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and privacy
Liked least: No colander and a small frying pan.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We take great care to ensure the cottage meets our guests needs. We are also pleased that you were able to see so much of our beautiful county.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali V
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal . couldn't have hoped for a better cottage.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

So please we found this fabulous little cottage.
Well equipped and comfortable, and a perfect location for exploring lovely Dorset.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Thanks for your positive review. I am pleased you appreciated what we provide in the cottage and were able to get around and enjoy the many attractions which Dorset has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will V
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what a find...brilliant.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

booked late so we werent expecting to find anything near as nice as this .
clean. comfy.lovely private location.
well equiped and couldnt have been better situated for exploring lovely lovely dorset.
we took our bikes and were able to store them safely.
superb little private patio for enjoying a cheeky one at the end of a busy day.
the pub just a stones throw away was wonderful .. highly recomend the curry night(mondays)
hope to be able to go back sometime.
thank you
x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: having to come home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. The area is certainly ideal for getting on your bikes. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrickyA28...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Would certainly recommend”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This lovely cottage was everything we expected and more. Comfortably sleeps 4 adults. Utilities were excellent could not have asked for more. Will certainly be staying here again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. You were our first guests in the newly-renovated cottage and we very much appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing