We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked it so much, we have stayed twice!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longbarn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longbarn House
Ranked #25 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Liked it so much, we have stayed twice!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

This B&B is really lovely. I stayed for the first time in April 2010 with my husband (in the double room) and again in July 2010 with my mother (twin room). The rooms are in a self-contained new section of the house, which is great as you have your own key so can come and go as you please without disturbing the hosts! Breakfast can also be as full or as light as you want it to be..served in the family kitchen - which is lovely! The house is really away from it all - there is nothing close by except for the local gastro pub, so I have had an excellent nights sleep every time I have stayed. The rooms are very clean, with nice decoration and very new and clean (small but perfectly formed) bathrooms. A great base from which to explore rural Dorset!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mswire, Owner at Longbarn House, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Thank you so much for a lovely review of our B&B Longbarn House, it was lovely having you and your husband share your first wedding anniversary with us and then to come back again with your mum for a second visit.
You were most welcome guest and we hope to see you again in lovely Dorset
Kind regards
Anya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay.

Pros:
Friendly and welcoming
Lovely and quiet
Excellent pub in village (65 paces) with very good food; we ended up eating there on three nights -enough said!
Good access to all Of Dorset.
Stayed in room with double bed, which was very comfortable and we slept very well.
Very clean and decor appealing
Guest accommodation is shut off from rest of house

Cons:
Parking is private but difficult if you are not good at reversing
If you are tall the ensuite in the double bedroom has limited headroom
Breakfast is good (especially the sausages) but choice is limited compared to many B&Bs - no fruit or yoghurt
Limited storage in bedroom if you are staying more than one night

Summary
Very happy to recommend this B&B subject to the odd caveats, which may not bother you

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

Chanced upon this B&B and it was fantastic. The Bedroom was beautifully furnished and at the end of the house which meant that it felt really private - even had its own entrance. Breakfast was gorgeous and our hostess was wonderful company. The local pub was a few minutes walk away and provided a reasonable meal in the evening. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharltonFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

We used this B&B on route to Devon from Sussex for a birthday party with our two young boys and were delighted with our find! Anya made us feel so welcome - the cup of tea on arrival was so welcome! We felt very at home and found it very easy to relax amd revive for part two of the journey!
The rooms are beautifully decorated (must find that material!!) and the breakfast lovely - nothing was too much trouble and the boys really felt spoilt!
We would all highly recommend Longbarn and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samleeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2007

Great location in the heart of Hardy country.Made very welcome by Mark & Anya. Brand new extension provides 2 self contained units with all facilities (en suite etc) in a quiet location but close to all main Dorset attractions. A great place to stay.

  • Liked — Brand new extension/self contained/v comfortable/clean/all facilities
  • Disliked — nothing - all was good
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

We had an excellent stay in this B&B. Mark and Anya are excellent hosts, very helpful.
The room was lovely - fresh and clean. Loved the flatscreen LCD TV too.
The bathroom was excellent -great powershower! Highly recommended- good central place for many of the Dorset attractions e.g. Lulworth Cove, Dorchester, Lyme Regis

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed at this wonderful little B&B over the Easter weekend as we were attending a wedding in Dorchester.

It is tucked away in a picturesque village just outside Dorchester and was the perfect weekend retreat for me & the wife. Owner's Mark & Anya have recently rennovated what once was a milking barn into their family home & have added a self contained B&B accomodation to the side of the property. Apparently it was the setting for Tess of the D'Urbevilles no less!!!

The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated with lovely cotton bed linen & fluffy white towels, just as you would expect from a top end B&B but for half the price!! Breakfast was delicious & we were made to feel extremely welcome

All in all a perfect little B&B!!

  • Liked — Lovely room & friendly owners
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEENINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
2.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
2.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#9 of 45 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longbarn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbarn House

Property: Longbarn House
Address: Barton Mews | West Stafford, Dorchester DT2 8UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Longbarn House Bed & Breakfast, ideally situated in the heart of Hardy country, West Dorset, close to the Jurassic Coast and just 2 miles from Dorchester. Mark and Anya invite you to stay in their family home, Longbarn House, in West Stafford and offer a warm and relaxed atmosphere for all their guests (including children and dogs). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Longbarn House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing