We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquila Heights Guest House
Ranked #3 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was my first time stay at Aquila Heights. The welcome from the proprietor was friendly, and first impressions were marvellous - the property is well appointed and clearly cared for. Guests are treated to a wide range of toiletries in their bedrooms (I have never had raspberry scented hair before!), and breakfast is excellent, with a generous range of options for cereals, cooked breakfast, fruits and a massive range of marmalades/jams etc. Most rooms are large.

As a package Aquila Heights sets the standard. Quite the best B&B I have stayed in for a long time.

The property is conveniently located for a large 24 hour Tesco, a lovely leisure centre, and a new restaurant development. Central Dorchester is a 15/20 minute walk.

Only one oddity. I was in a single room with private facilities, it turned out the private facilities were across the corridor. Other rooms were en suite. Not a problem as a dressing gown was provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
57
19
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a gorgeous, calm & genuinely friendly place! And far, far more lovely and much better value than other places that cost twice the price. I was (sadly) only staying the one night & had work to do during my stay, so I couldn't make full use of the facilities - such as the gardens, which were in bloom and obviously cared for well. Just another detail that contributed to a very happy stay here. My room was spotless, individual (i.e. someone had taken the time to consider how to create a welcoming, relaxing atmosphere...it definitely worked for me) and, despite being next to a busy road, managed to be quiet (hurray!). And fantastic views too!
I really appreciated the many little details - such as (in the shower room) having a selection of toiletries; clean, fluffy and BIG towels; & very clean surfaces (especially in the shower itself). My bedroom was neat - whilst not being too formal - the bedlinen & bathrobe felt new and were nicely scented, it had a great selection of hot drinks and biccies - and the TV worked! And I've not stayed anywhere that's provided a bedside alarm at all, let alone one that gently welcomes you to the new day! A good selection of info about the local area & its many attractions - it really seemed as if there was a deep sense of pride about the locality.
I was given a very friendly, genuine welcome & tour, and this helped me to settle in after a long, stressful day & journey. I've already recommended this gorgeous b&b highly to family & friends - and I'll most definitely be returning for a longer, more leisurely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just come back from another stay at Aquila Heights. We stay there once or twice a year tto visit friends opposite who don't have any spare beds!
As with every visit, the quality of the welcome, the room, the breakfast, etc was superb. I reviewed it the first time we stayed here and gave it 5 stars and nothing has slipped during the intervening 4 years. There is still more choice of breakfast cereals and preserves than in your average Tesco's and the range of cooked breakfasts would put almost every 5* hotel in the country in the shade. The day after we left we stayed at another B&B near Exeter which was very nice and a similar price but was three leagues lower than Joan's place. You could stay at the newly completed and totally faceless Premier Inn in Dorchester but for the same money you be treated like a long lost friend and provided with all the comforts of home (or the home you wish you had!!).

Room Tip: If you want a double bed and a good view over Maiden Castle, ask for Room 3 (or 5 - not quite as goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Upon beginning a new job in Dorchester, I needed somewhere to lay my head for a few nights. I expected a room, and from experience, not even a comfy bed. What I got though was so much more.

On arrival, I was personally greeted, and given a tour. The room was immaculate, and a decent size for the money I paid. There was ample parking, and the most wonderful cooked breakfast that I've had in a long time.

Although I spent rather little time in the hotel, the experience was made so much better by the lovely lady who manages the guest house, Joan. She would take time out of her busy morning (whilst trying to cook breakfasts, check people in, etc) just to answer my questions on the local area. She went far far beyond what I'd expect, and was personal throughout, remembering all of the little things, like the fact that I don't like mushrooms on my breakfast! (anybody that does is weird).

The hotel is fairly small, I only counted a handful of rooms, and by the sounds of it, every room spends most of its nights full with cyclists, tourists, students and business types. It felt like home for the week, and not like I was sat in a boring hotel room watching Catchphrase and eating chocolate.

I don't plan on finding the need for a return stay, but should the day come I will search no further than vacancies at this lovely little guest house. Absolutely 5 star service around the board, and a pleasure to have made a new friend in the process. I will keep in touch with Joan, and recommend that anybody who stays here spends 5 minutes picking her brains about the area, as you'll learn a lot!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 4, which doesn't have an en-suite but its own private bathroom down the hall. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexm4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This well-run B&B was recommended to us by another Dorchester B&B that was full, and I would have no hesitation recommending it to others.
It was easy to book on-line.
The double room where we stayed was small but airy, clean and comfortable. It had an in-room coffee/tea maker, with many extra tea flavours freely available. The shower room was well-stocked with various gels & shampoos.
The breakfast was excellent - a full English breakfast was cooked to order and there were plenty of cereals and jams. I had no need for lunch!
The B&B is within walking distance (15-20 mins) of Poundbury and Dorchester town centre.
Joan (the proprietor) was very welcoming and had an impressive attention to detail throughout the guest-house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNFD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was given this guest house as a place to stay by tourist information when i was stranded by my husband being taken into hospital unexpectedly. I couldn't have asked for more from the landlady who was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudgerabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquila_Heights, Owner at Aquila Heights Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Aquila Heights especially in such difficult and worrying circumstances. I hope your husband has now made a full recovery.
Kind regards
Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Joan was a wonderful host and took care of our every need! The rooms were very clean and comfortable although the room where my husband and I stayed was a little small with little space to move around. However, the room my elderly parents and my son occupied was spacious with a lounge area which was perfect. The breakfast was delicious with and the variety was unbelievable. we enjoyed our stay enormously and would recommend the guesthouse to anyone after a truly English experience. Thank you Joan!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseBellingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Heights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Heights Guest House

Property: Aquila Heights Guest House
Address: 44 Maiden Castle Road, Dorchester DT1 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquila Heights Guest House offers a selection of seven light, bright and airy bedrooms all furnished and decorated to enhance their individual ambiance and charm • Visit England 4 Stars accreditation plus Silver and Breakfast Awards • Free high speed fibre optic Wi-Fi • Free off street Parking • Excellent award winning Breakfast Menu designed to cater for all tastes and dietary requirements - individually cooked to order from 7 - 9am daily • Locally sourced products and fresh local produce in season are used whenever possible • LCD bedroom televisions with Freeview • Generous hospitality trays with a beverage selection • Cyclists and Walkers are Welcome with secure dry overnight cycle storage and wet clothes drying available • We are pleased to welcome guests for short or longer stays • All tariffs are inclusive of your own choices from our extensive Breakfast menu and VAT • Prestigious, peaceful location in Thomas Hardy Country with excellent views towards the ramparts of Maiden Castle iron-age hill fort and [Admiral] Hardy's Monument• Just a short walk to Dorchester's historic town centre, museums, an abundance of eateries and all local facilities and amenities • Two mainline train stations and a National Express Coaches stop en route to the town centre • Easy to find central location for touring and exploring beautiful Dorset's wealth of attractions and World Heritage Jurassic Coastline - Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door, Weymouth, Isle of Portland, Chesil Bank, Abbotsbury, Bridport's West Bay [ITV's Broadchurch] and Lyme Regis etc. • A warm welcome always awaits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aquila Heights Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing