We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“England at its best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“England at its best.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a spare long weekend and were looking for somewhere to get away for a couple of nights. We had not visited Dorset for some twenty years and picked the Old Rectory because it looked appealing from other reviews. We were not disappointed. It was easily to find just off the A35 in the picturesque village of Winterborne Steepleton, about 10 minutes outside Dorchester. As you approach he Old Rectory you drive past thatched cottages, whilst a clear chalk stream - the actual "winterborne" flows beside the road.
The exterior of the Old Rectory is not particularly attractive as it is a large cement rendered Victorian building, but a soon as the front door opened and Caroline welcomed us in
we were in a delightful cosy home. There are four bedrooms, we had the "Dorchester" which had a wonderfully comfy, massive four poster bed. The room was very spacious with two arm chairs, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making and en suite with a large bath, two washbasins and lashings of hot water. The shower was over the bath and not especially powerful.
We went to the Coach and Horses in Winterborn Abbas for a good value evening meal. The pub had recently been refurbished. It is just about within walking distance, but as it was down a dark lane we decided to drive. A bit of a shame as the selection of real ales was good, and of course driving meant I was restricted in what I could have!
Although we had a car there is an excellent bus service through the village, every hour until late. First Group route 31 serves Axminster, Lyme Regis, Bridport, Dorchester and Weymouth - a useful service for tourists.
Breakfast at the B&B is served in the conservatory where we chatted to other guests. The meal was comprehensive with yoghurt, cereal, tinned fruits, toast and full English all served up by the cheerful and hard working Caroline, who clearly enjoys meeing her guests. Probably my only criticism is that an extra sausage or egg would have finished off the breakfast - a very minor criticism.
For those not familiar with Dorset, it is a very rural county with delightful countryside and impressive coastal scenery. On our drive down we visited Tolpuddle, where early trade unionists were harshly transported to Australia for daring to confront their masters; writer Thomas Hardy's cottage, and the tiny claustrophobic retreat where T E Lawrence - Lawrence of Arabia escaped military life. On Sunday a massive storm hit the British Isles which rather restricted out activities and rural England in the driving rain is not so good! Caroline was perfectly happy with us staying indoors all day using the guest lounge or our own room. We did venture out and went to Weymouth - where the rain stopped, and Portland Bill where the heavens opened up again! We got soaked so returned to base and changed. We went into Dorchester for a late Sunday lunch at Wetherspoons, then back to our room for a cosy night in.
Overall then a very pleasant stay, not cheap but good value and I would thoroughly recommend The Old Rectory to anyone wanting to explore his area

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dadstours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
97
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights and was made to feel very welcome from the instant the front door was opened. Caroline and Graham are excellent hosts and could not do enough to help us. Caroline is also a font of local knowledge and helped us to find some lovely places to visit. We stayed in the Dorchester room it was huge, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The breakfast was a perfectly cooked full english and you could help yourself to toast/cereal/fruit and plenty of coffee! If it sounds like this B&B is too good to be true, it's because it is! Highly recommended, we shall be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Needing to be in the area for an evening, I selected this accomodation. Read some great reviews and they were not wrong. We did not have the best room in the house, but I was pleasantly surprised at just how lovely our room was. A lovely quiet location. We did try the local pub for lunch, but I was not overly impressed. It was under new management apparently. Our hostess was most attentive and explained how to get to a few points in the area. As a photographer, I wanted to have a look around. I got some nice photos without trying very hard. Breakfast was superb, plenty of coffee and a lovely full english. For the price, I was not expecting the stay to be as good. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Caroline made us feel very welcome in their lovely B&B. She went beyond the call of duty to ensure we could check-in and pick up our room key ok, a lovely gesture. The room was comfortable and the breakfast absolutely perfect! Couldn't ask for more, would recommend to anyone needing a quiet break in the countryside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vouliagmeni, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and we felt more like "friends" then paying guests - Caroline and Gordon the owners couldn't do enough for us! The rooms were comfortable, the facilities pristine and the breakfasts were hearty and generous. Definitely recommend booking a room with them as you won't regret the experience of their hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissyvs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I, my son the bridegroom and various members of our extended family arrived at different times over the weekend of July 7 - yes the weekend of torrential rain and flooding for the wedding of the year! Gordon and Caroline couldn't have been more unflappable at the various comings and goings of the family. They helped with lifts to navigate the road which became a fast flowing river, lent the groom gold cufflinks, served breakfast and fresh coffee and tea throughout, put up an extra guest without complaint - remaining calm and serene throughout what must have been a personally stressful time for them too - their lovely home could have been flooded as well. Thanks to their complete professionalism the weekend will be one to remember and not just for the floods! Did I mention they are a mine of local information too!

Room Tip: All the rooms have an individual character, with ensuite facilities, perfect for wedding guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here overnight, arriving to a very warm welcome by hosts Caroline & Gordon. We needed a room with both a double and single bed, which was kindly made possible by a King-sized bed being moved into our room - the Abbotsbury - which is clean, light & beautiful (with a particular fondness of the bathroom - absolutely stunning). Our breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice. Our particular visit was dampened (pardon the pun) by very heavy rainful, causing flooding of the roads....this hadn't happened in around 13 years. Our hosts were extremely helpful, offering us lifts & advice should we be stuck. As it happens all was fine and we were able to leave without complication. We would recommend this b&b to anyone for it's idyllic location, beautiful rooms and helpful, friendly hosts that aim for and achieve a very high standard. Many thanks. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: The Abbotsbury room is light, airy, clean and beautiful. The bathroom is like something you'd ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicHosking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
3.8 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
273 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
71 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Rectory Country House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Winterbourne Steepleton, Dorchester DT2 9LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian rectory offers peaceful and relaxing breaks in our four en-suite rooms including one with a four poster bed. English breakfast is served in the courtyard conservatory. We are 3 miles west of the county town of Dorchester and within easy reach of the stunning world heritage Jurassic coastline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Country House Bed And Breakfast Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing