We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Arrived with the family for an overnight around 5.30pm. Hotel is relatively new I think and was in very good condition. Room was spotless and bathroom the same. Staff were all very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for submitting your wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure to read and I am delighted that you had a brilliant stay with us. Our Team Members really make Dorchester Premier Inn special, they go out of their way to make all of our guests feel brilliant. I will be giving your feedback to the Housekeeping team who work tirelessly to ensure that all rooms are spotless. Many thanks for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Claire Wilson, OpsManager.dorchester@premierinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    286
    80
    27
    19
See reviews for
325
316
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It is a new clean hotel in a great location. So much so I WILL use it again. What you need to know. The parking is underground and hidden. It is allocated parking that is not free. You have to pay £2 to a charity that you have not chosen and indeed may not even rate. (charity should be a choice not a bribe!!)
The staff do not man reception. You have to book yourself in... If you don't know how you will need to find someone to help. Good luck....
The restaurant is dead... The waiter goes into the on display kitchen to help the chef... uses the hands that just took your order to touch your breadsticks to put into an oven that then burns the bottom of them... don't worry they place them on the plate so you won't notice!
There is very little phone signal or 3g in the hotel... I wonder if this is done to make you buy wifi?
Then there is the lift... you have to wave your card over a thing that makes the lift work but there is no one at the desk to explain this and no notices.... so good luck!
then on exiting the underground carpark.... there are no signs to tell you where to go.... you MUST go out the in..... its a risk... Good luck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry we did not live up to our usual high standard during your stay. You are correct in saying that we have Quick and Easy check In machines, we also have the team that are able to check you in at any time of the day or night, we just to like to be able to offer the choice. As we are a new hotel, we have a team on shift who are completely multi skilled so they support both reception and Food and Beverage departments, however I note your comments regarding the waiter and I have passed this feedback onto the Team Leaders for them to instigate re-training. In regards to the lift, due to our location in a complex, security is our biggest priority for the guests, so we have security access to all areas of the hotel, this is why you have to use your key in the lifts and corridors, this should have been explained to you on arrival, I again will pass this feedback on. With regards to parking, yes we have a limited underground car park that we alloacte on arrival, it is free of charge, we do not charge for this. We are trying to raise as much money as possible for Great Ormond Hospital, but I can assure you we do not tell our guests to pay, this is simply a donation request. I thank you for your feedback, it makes us a better brand when we receive feedback as it helps us improve on any issues that our guest’s experience throughout their stay. Kind Regards, Claire Wilson, Opsmanager.dorchester@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton,Uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a find. We stayed here for a family birthday in Dorchester. The Inn is very central in town, part of the Brewery district which is being wonderfully developed. The facilities were excellent, staff really friendly, when we all came back from our meal the bar staff were more than willing to keep the drinks coming in a very comfortable bar area-- you don't usually get that in a budget hotel. Definitely stay again to explore the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enidmpheasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire_Wilson7, Manager at Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, it was an absolute pleasure to read and I am delighted that you had a brilliant stay with us. My Team really make Dorchester Premier Inn special, they go out of their way to make all of our guests feel brilliant. We're very fortunate to be located in a new complex built on the Old Brewery that is currently being developed, we are also lucky in the fact that we have much more to be developed around us. I do hope you will return to stay with us again in the future Thank you again for your review, Kind regards, Claire Wilson, Opsmanager.dorchester@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Warm, friendly staff, great location, very clean and tidy (still relatively new) - excellent staff dealt quickly and efficiently with an issue that arose during our stay. Can't fault this hotel (apart from confusing sign for pre-booked parking when I checked beforehand and there is not pre-booked parking available)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasyuk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights in January as we wanted a convenient location to visit the Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovil and Lyme Regis, on our way down to Cornwall.

All of the staff we met were incredibly friendly and accommodating. We had a big, clean and bright room which was modern and furnished to normal PI standard. We ate breakfast at the hotel which is always good value and quality. Several good restaurants within a minutes walking distance (Nando's, Pizza Express). There are also a few clothes shop and a cinema. We paid £29 a night which is outstanding value. There was no phone signal in the room but we found the wifi reliable and good value at £3 for 24 hours.

We were able to park right outside the hotel on both nights. Look for signs to Dorchester South Train Station to find the hotel. It's about a 5 minute walk to the town centre and there is a Tesco close by. Would definitely use this hotel again, in particular because of the staff who are a credit to the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laurathegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst working in dorchester. I found the hotel to be very clean, tidy and well kept. What most impressed me were the staff, everybody wore a smile loud & proud! Everyone was so happy to help in any way they could and always said hello or goodbye. I got back to the hotel late one night and the bar had closed however the barman (who obviously had just cleaned everything and shut the place down) offered me a beer and a seat at the bar despite being closed. I checked out and left the hotel for a few hours but upon finding out my train would be over a two hour wait I returned to the hotel and asked if i could hang out in the warm and use the wifi. I was pleasantly welcomed and offered a coffee & a table in their restaurant which wasn't open for service. Such a fantastic service that i really didn't expect. Thank you and if i ever return to Dorchester i'm coming to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalNathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed at the Premeir Inn Dorchester in December 2013, for a family Christmas Shopping Trip.

Really nice new hotel, staff are very helpful and friendly, nice rooms although they are all the same size so if travelling with children, not a great deal of space in the rooms. Lovely beds and bathrooms.

Breakfast was great help yourself, nice selection really good quality.

Brewery square was lovely the evening we stayed as the had entertainers and the ice rink open, ballet dancers and music, really nice xmas atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAndrelookalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
103 reviews
5.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Address: 5 Pope Street, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing