We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a brand new Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Dorchester
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed one night on return from sporting trip. Good location for ferry, close to Weymouth port. VERY hard to find as not signposted from main road and satnav didn't recognise the address.
This is a brand new Prem on a new development or flats, retail units and restaurants, cinema etc. (building works still going on) on the site of the old Dorchester Brewery. Restaurant/Cafe in hotel has a poor selection of food but there are lots of places to eat practically next door. No toilets on restaurant floor level which we found an inconvenience, you have to go down a floor. Rooms were clean and staff were pleasant. There is no parking at the hotel. They have a small amount of spaces allocated in the underground carpark and these have to be pre-booked but there is some public parking at the Station and across the road. Booked a family room and only the double bed was made up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 978 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights during the July heatwave and were thankful for the AC in the rooms. Very modern and clean. Parking was no problem although the number of spaces is limited and if it is busy I could see this being an issue. Be aware if you park in the big public car park in the middle of town there is a Wednesday market, one guest found his car surrounded by flower sellers!!
The location is great with several good eating places only a couple of minutes walk and Dorchester is a nice town and easy walk. The staff were very friendly. We always ate out, knowing what Premier food is like!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmc353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for three nights in August. As we have often found with premier inn the room was lovely and clean. The bed was really comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. You can hear people walking in the corridor but you get that with most hotels.
There is parking but it does get full. They ask for a £2 donation to charity when you use their parking.
The hotel is centrally located and has a cinema and restaurants right on your doorstep.
We really enjoyed our stay and would definetly recomend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippoNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel opened in April this year so is still looks very new & clean, we stayed for two nights with our two children in one room, the room was a good size, it was clean and comfy, the bed was a little hard for us but you can request a mattress topper. The room was air conditioned but this was a bit noisy so switched it off. The hotel is located in a old brewery which is being redeveloped into shops, restaurants, a cinema & apartments there is a pretty cool fountain that my kids loved running around in especially at night when it lights up. Although the redevelopment is not finished yet there is already a Pizza Express, Wagamama, Carluccios & Zizzi, the Odeon Cinema is also open. It is a 10 min walk into Dorchester town centre, the car park was full on both days so we parked in the Pay & Display across the road, only £2 for all day so not a problem. Breakfast is £8.25 per adult, kids under 16 eat free, I would say this is ok if you have children with you, if not you get better value having breakfast at the Weatherspoons pub in the town, we ate there one morning and had a good breakfast for the four of us for a little over £11. All the staff were really friendly and as Dorchester is only a few miles from Weymouth it's an ideal location for a short family break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyRGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked in for one night after Zorbing near by. Brand new hotel, self service computerised check in, but someone there to help if required. Clean, spacious rooms, limited free parking right outside (we were lucky). Fantastic location situated in a new complex with cinema, restaurants/bars overlooking fountain play area (great for kid when sunny). Two min walk into town. Loved it, love Premier Inn's know exactly what you are getting!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fairly new hotel, clean and tidy. Was a little disappointed to find that the car park had changed since booking to a 'first come' basis. But there is a nearby car park which only costs £2 per day - free at night, so this wasn't a major setback. Did have a few problems with the wifi - signal needs to be stronger. Other than that, a really pleasant area with plenty of eateries/entertainment around and staff were very helpful. Will definately go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peccavi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A new hotel in a newly refurbished development. Parking could be a problem - there is payable parking on site but otherwise a public car park 100 meters away. The stay was spoiled for me due to noise keeping me awake at night - the air conditioning is too loud so I turned it off and slept with the window open but was kept awake from 3:00 am until dawn by a leaking pipe which dribbled water onto a tin roof outside my window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mottthehoople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
165 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
116 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dorchester

Address: 5 Pope Street | Brewery Square, Dorchester DT1 1GW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: $79 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dorchester 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far from the madding crowd, but near to all the delights of Dorset, the Premier Inn Hotel Dorchester puts you in the heart of Thomas Hardy country. In the historic town's new Brewery Square development, you'll have business, leisure and heritage right on your doorstep. You could set sail at Olympic watersports venue Weymouth and Portland. Or hang out with the kings of the swingers at Monkey World. And if it's the right time of year, fire up your engine at the Great Dorset Steam Fair. Then retreat to our stylish restaurant, spacious rooms and extra comfy beds. Please note that our car parking is first come first served and limited spacing, park outside reception on arrival and reception can assist you further. Accessible rooms have a low bath with support. Wet rooms with a walk in shower can be allocated on request. Please contact reception with your booking number should you require a wet room. We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dorchester Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing