We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Plaza”
Review of Plaza Cinema

Plaza Cinema
Ranked #1 of 4 Fun & Games in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Lovely little cinema, reception a bit cramped at busy times but all the best shows and amazing value. Comfy seats and loads of room, a Dorchester gem.

Thank PatnPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelGattrell, Operatiosn Manager at Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoy the gem of The Plaza, we appreciate your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 565 of 733 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great cinema, friendly staff, cheap at half the price. A time warp?
Always enjoy going there,it's great when one has a community facility that one can afford even on a low income.

Thank Le D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelGattrell, Operations Manager at Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased that you enjoy your visits, and find it good value, keep up the great cinema going.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Why go anywhere else when Dorchester boasts the Plaza Cinema! A fraction of the price of other cinemas and extremely friendly staff. 4 screens and of course ALL the most recent films that are available in other pricey cinemas too!

Thank G S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelGattrell, Operations Manager at Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your praise for The Plaza.

We have a loyal local audience and really enjoy welcoming them to see our films and live cinema events.

Your support is most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

value great however one of the staff behind the counter is very rude and asked for my ID for a fifteen despite the fact i am 23 and i could not get in ! apart from that i feel it is very well priced and managed and the other 20 times going there i have been very impressed.

1  Thank nigel950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelGattrell, Operations Manager at Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your kind words of support and feedback towards the Plaza.We do take great pride in the deliver of our operation, and hence we have to abide by the rules to ensure that ID is provided, We apologise if you felt a staff member was ride and will bring it to the attention of the Cinema Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Normal pricing!!, not like the big, way overpriced cinema chains out there, good family run place with bundles of character...

1  Thank 991Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelGattrell, Operations Manager at Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and support towards The Plaza, we take great pride in the Cinema, its operation and personable staffing.

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Plaza Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing