We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The kids quite liked it...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dinosaur Museum

The Dinosaur Museum
Ranked #23 of 37 things to do in Dorchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Britain's top hands-on fossil museums.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The kids quite liked it...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went with our 4 year old and 7 year old. Terribly overpriced and blatant mis advertising on the leaflet, but anyway....the 4 year old liked it, but then she likes pretty much everything, including running around in a field for free, which is what we should have done instead! The 7 year old found it quite interesting, but we as parents found it to be an absolute pile of rubbish. 20 minutes max I would say the trip lasted for.

I found a lost child, took him to the counter, told the woman behind that he was lost, and she didn't care. She just said that his mother will turn up at some point...erm, great. Nice to see the staff care so much that they went to find her! Keep an eye on your kids, it gets very crowded, the stairs are very steep and the lost toddler I found had managed to run out of the front door and across the road as there is no barrier system.

People were queuing to get in, must have been like us and were sold on the leaflet hype. Tempted to inform trading standards, as one of the quotes on the wall as you go in said it was better than the Natural History Museum...not really, no! Don't bother going. Really. Don't. Go fossil hunting at Charmouth Beach instead!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Epsom1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    54
    71
    42
    113
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our son is obsessed with Dinosaurs at the moment, so we drove to Dorchester specifically to come here. We had to fork over 19 quid for the four of us and after about twenty minutes there was nothing more to see. The "museum" consists of badly dressed mannequins, Jurassic Park on loop in the corner, and some plastic toys in display cases. Avoid.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hallie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Kids love dinos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

All my children and grandchildren have loved this museum.
It is full of great models and educational areas that the children will love.
The shop has affordable models for a good memory to take home.
Don't miss this one it is a lot of fun. Adults will learn stuff too

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our 4 & 6 year old children chose this out as a place they'd like to visit while on holiday in Dorset & the leaflet made it sound very impressive. We were very underwhelmed with the whole experience & were amazed that they could ask the price they did - £22.50 for our young family wiith only 1-2 hrs worth of viewing. Felt let down to have travelled specially there from Lyme Regis & based a whole day of our holiday around this very disappointing museum. If the prices reflected the contents I would've felt less cheated! Wish we'd read the other reviews before embarking on our day out...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Sazzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great introduction to dinosaurs for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Took my 2 and 4 year olds to this and was impressed by how much it captured their imagination. The museum is relatively small but there is enough to cater for all ages: factual reading for grown-ups, and life-size models, a video, quiz and hands-on interactive activities for younger children.
It was probably a bit on the expensive side for a ticket just to the museum on its own, but if you are staying a couple of days and bought a passport ticket that gets you into all of the 5 linked Dorchester attractions I would say it would work out value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dinosaur Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Dinosaur Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing