We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
Ranked #9 of 123 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Italian food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I were staying overnight in Dorchester on route to a few nights break in Devon. We came across La Caverna whilst we were driving around to find a bed and breakfast. We hadn't booked and with it being a Friday evening they were full but they found us a table for half an hour later.

The food was excellent and the restaurant has a very rustic and authentic atmosphere. I woud definitely recommend it to anyone.

When we went to pay the owners were sitting having a drink and they invited us to have one with them. They were very welcoming and friendly.

Overall a very enjoyable evening :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    61
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable meals of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went two consecutive nights of a two-night stay in Dorchester to La Caverna because we were so impressed after the first meal, and the second was even better. It really was one of those dining experiences that you look back on as among the best of your life so far.
As other reviews indicate, appearances here are deceptive because from street entrance level you have no idea what awaits. Suffice to say it`s a most unusual and inviting ambience downstairs.
Service is wonderful, food utterly delicious.
The Sea Bass I had on the second evening was cooked to perfection. I chose the second (of three) options for this dish - just with butter, garlic and lemon - because it`s a fish that I think is so lovely as not to need much besides itself. The plate of vegetables and the sauté potatoes went beautifully with it, as did the House White (a Trebiano, I think). The desserts are amazing, also. There was just a kind of elegant simplicity to the food I had, with flavours to die for.
Thank you to everyone at La Caverna for our two wonderful evenings with you. We really will remember them all our lives, and would recommend you to anyone and everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were recommended to this place by the owner of where we were staying and we wasn't disappointed. The food was excellent its cooked fresh and is very tasty. The restaurant is actually in the cellar and gets very busy so booking is advisable. We would were very impressed with the whole experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went here with friends. Nice atmosphere. Good food. Freshly prepared. Will definitely be visiting this restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetHopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than an Italian chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good service, food average - I enjoyed mine, my wife went for the lasagne, but was much sweeter than she liked.
I was offered an alternative to the house red by the glass, which was very nice. Asked if Prosecco served by glass, they said they did have some available in small bottles - this was ordered, but turned out to be Spumante - but still a nice drink - so not too disappointed.
The cave basement eating area was OK.
But as one of the other reviewers said, far better than one of the Italian chains.
But only just got the 4/5 (rather than 3) on the basis of would probably like to go again if looking for Italian food in Dorchester

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TreacleBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

 
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing