We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked being a Martyr”
Review of The Martyrs Inn

The Martyrs Inn
Ranked #26 of 128 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Martyrs Inn, in the historic village of Tolpuddle, near Dorchester, Dorset, is a delightful country pub serving our local, visitor and tourism trade. We offer a range of great home cooked food, using locally sourced ingredients, we work hard to be excellent value and offer all our diners a relaxed atmoshphere for eating. Open all day with food served 12noon until 9pm (8pm on Sunday) with regular great value dining such as curry night monday, fish and chip friday and our all day sunday carvery.
Cornwall, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Liked being a Martyr”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just enjoyed a first class meal cooked to our perfection. We received an extremely good welcome and the waitress was very attentive throughout our pleasant evening. Menu was varied and sensibly priced with good evidence of local produce. They also have theme nights at attractive prices. Worth leaving the A35 to find this gem of a village with bags of history. Only downside was the lack of atmosphere as there were so few diners on a Thursday evening. On the whole it was worth being a Martyr for a night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    82
    29
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth taking detour for.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Well worth coming off the A35 to find this little gem. Dog welcomed which always helps. We both had plough mans which was excellent value for money. A good variety of cheese, ham and pork pie and very reasonably priced. Will definitely break journey here again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aebromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear aebromley

Thanks for taking the time to detour of the A35 to find us, and taking the time to write a great review. Looking forward to seeing you both (and your dog) again.

best wishes

Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Really nice country Inn”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Called in here by chance but what a great find. Good local beers plus a great menu with well cooked & well presented food. Despite arriving at 1400 (food stopped at 1430) staff were inviting and accommodating. Menu choices good and well priced.Portion sizes were large.

Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkrBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mark

Thanks for the great review, we work really hard to provide our visitors with a great country pub experience, with lovely local food and all local staff we support our local community as well.

Many thanks
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visited this pub for dinner during the week and it was quite busy. The menu wasn't very inspiring and the food was a little disappointing. Expected better. Staff friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hello Jane

Thanks for your review, I am sorry you did not find our menu inspiring..

The Martyrs Inn, is a busy country pub, offering a range of pub classics, and some great seasonal dishes including Loin of Lamb wrapped in Proscuitto, Cornish Hake and our fabulous Fillet of Beef from just a few miles down the road.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, but we are not a restaurant, bistro or noodle bar, just a nice relaxed (but busy) country pub. We don't try to inspire with our menu, but we do work hard to make our offering the best it can be, to be friendly and look after our customer, 99% of whom have a great time..

I would be interested to hear your thoughts on the menu content, perhaps you could give the Martyrs Inn a call and ask for my direct line.

Many thanks
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently attended a pre-wedding get together meal at the Martyrs. The numbers fluctuated day by day but nothing phased the staff who were eager to accommodate a large party of 23. Although we were a little late in arriving this caused no problems and we were greeted with smiles and courtesy. Once drinks had been sorted the food was quickly served. No waiting, no fuss and no luke warm food. The staff were at pains to make sure our wedding weekend got off to a great start. Good food, good atmosphere, pleasant staff what's not to like. Family who had travelled many miles were highly impressed and commented upon the friendly ambiance during the evening. We visited the pub several times over the weekend and will do so in future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinUsherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Director of Sales at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Martin

Thats really kind of you to post a glowing review, we are so pleased you had a lovely evening with us the night before your wedding!

We hope to see to see you again soon.

best wishes
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Martyrs Inn also viewed

Puddletown, Dorchester
Piddlehinton, Dorchester
 
Milborne Saint Andrew, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to The Martyrs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing