We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food, great service, with a cozy friendly atmosphere”
Review of The Martyrs Inn

The Martyrs Inn
Ranked #27 of 126 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Martyrs Inn, in the historic village of Tolpuddle, near Dorchester, Dorset, is a delightful country pub serving our local, visitor and tourism trade. We offer a range of great home cooked food, using locally sourced ingredients, we work hard to be excellent value and offer all our diners a relaxed atmoshphere for eating. Open all day with food served 12noon until 9pm (8pm on Sunday) with regular great value dining such as curry night monday, fish and chip friday and our all day sunday carvery.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab food, great service, with a cozy friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

What a fabulous find The Martyrs Inn is! Recently my husband and I ventured over to Tolpuddle on the strength of an excellent recommendation from some friends, and we weren't disappointed.

We both adore cosy friendly pubs, and The Martyrs Inn certainly ticked the boxes from the moment we entered. Friendly staff, a great selection of alcohol, lovely atmosphere with fantastic food.

The day we turned up happened to be a curry night, and I must admit it was one of the best curry's I have had, and the fact you could go up for more was a bonus.

We will certainly be venturing over to The Martyrs Inn again very soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Owner at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you Jess for a great review. It is really encouraging to read that you have experienced everything that work so hard to perfect at the Martyrs Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    76
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
217 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

it was quiet when we visited one weekday in januray well after all the xmas festivities were done with but despite being in-between menu changes the choice was really good, especially the veggie options, and choice of wines was varied as well. a good place to meet people if you're both driving along the A35 from opposite directions

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noahoxford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not the place it was”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A few years ago the Martyrs was one of the best fish restaurants in the south of England. We visited for a family birthday, 12 of us all ready for a good night out.
What a disappointment - the menu now is average pub grub, not particularly inexpensive. Not surprisingly the restaurant was half empty which for a Friday between Christmas and New Year says it all!
The one redeeming feature were the girls who served us- all three were charming and very efficient always smiling. But Masterchef this was not. I suggest the chef goes down the road to the Blue Vinney in Puddletown and sees what is on a similarly priced menu (and its always full!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliantb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen D, Owner at The Martyrs Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Its always disappointing when a review is not positive, but I do feel that the 'two' stars have been given a little unfairly for no other reason than we are a village pub and not the failed seafood restaurant under previous ownership many years ago.

Our offering is on displayed on our website, and we provide a choice of menus with a range of dishes to suit all tastes and budgets, (Homebaked Ham, Egg + Chips @ £6.50 on the bar menu and Cornish Hake, with Samphire & Risotto @ £13.95 on the restaurant menu tonight for example)

I am sure other pubs are busier, but 40 or so served that evening is plenty for us while our hardworking staff have some time off during the christmas holidays.

If there are any specific comments regarding the quality of food, then please do not hesitate in giving me a call or drop me an email from the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Lunch stop”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Visiting Athelhampton nearby and the Tolpuddle Martyrs Museum. Well looked after real ales (Hall & Woodhouse). The food was hale and hearty pub grub, well presented and adequate portions. Good choice, good value, and prompt and courteous service. Toilets clean

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaior, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great value pre-Christmas menu with a convivial atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My family is widespread, so we travelled to the Martyrs Inn in Tolpuddle from Brighton, Bristol, Kingsbridge and Wells for a pre-Christmas Sunday lunch gathering. None of us had been there before, but it turned out to be a great choice.

There were leather sofas in front of a log burning stove and a long table ready prepared for our party of 12. The service was unobtrusive but efficient and their special Christmas menu offered a wide choice. Three of our party were vegetarian and we were all more than happy with the veggie options. I chose mushroom wellington as a main dish and loved it. However, the highlight was the special desert featuring a mini Christmas pudding, a chocolate mousse with a shortcake biscuit and an individual pavlova. I could eat that again any day!

Whilst the adults took coffee, the children kept themselves quietly amused by playing cards in front of the fire. We were so relaxed and comfortable, we would have stayed there for hours longer , but eventually we had to leave to allow the exceptionally patient staff to prepare for the evening diners.

It was a most successful lunch and brilliant value at £22 per head. If you are looking at a relaxed and convivial place for a pre-Christmas lunch, without breaking the bank, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DhBahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Martyrs Inn also viewed

Puddletown, Dorchester
 
Piddlehinton, Dorchester
 

Been to The Martyrs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing