We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Sculptures by the lake

Smashing place, relaxing and beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyable and very good value. We were extremely... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Linda W
via mobile
Exceptional Visit

The synthesis between the sculpture and setting is quite exceptional. The layout of the park has... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paul T
Read all 1,159 reviews
  
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveler rating
974
138
20
8
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
974
138
20
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful sculptures sculpture park simon gudgeon tranquil setting each piece sat nav magical place peace and quiet works of art wild flowers every corner picnic lunch well worth a visit sunny day for sale few hours hidden gem
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Smashing place, relaxing and beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyable and very good value. We were extremely lucky with the weather which made the day perfect for a gentle stroll around the lakes and the perfect setting for the sculptures. The gallery cafe was comfortable and the food delicious.

Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The synthesis between the sculpture and setting is quite exceptional. The layout of the park has been carefully conceived so that the visitor is time and time again surprised by wonderful works of art framed by trees, plants and water in the most ingenious way. This is a must for anyone visiting the Dorchester area of Dorset.

Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful place. It is quiet, relaxing and interesting. The sculptures are amazing. Some you can touch while others are on the water. It is so peaceful.
The restaurant serves the freshest food, beautifully presented. The toilets are state of the art.

Thank annmF7370PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great day out walking around the lake looking at the sculptures ( which are for sale) sitting down at picnic Areas taking in the piece and quiet had a meal an coffee in the restaurant perfect

Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been here twice. It certainly warrants a return visit. We found it very peaceful at all times of the year.
Two pleasant places to eat with very nice food.

1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sculpture and nature combine on the gentle walk around the lakes and beside the river. It’s a wonderful experience. Note to prevent disappointment. No children (under 14) and no dogs. It’s just beautiful, we really enjoyed taking it slowly and soaking it all up.

1  Thank paulaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a find!! I cannot recommend this place highly enough! The sculptures are all absolutely amazing and have been carefully placed around the grounds and in the lake. It is very peaceful and you never know what you are going to see around the next bend. Great for a half day visit and the cafe is excellent too. There are some smaller sculptures for sale in the studio and some pictures too, but they are not cheap! I will most definitely visit here again next time I am in Dorset

1  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this beautiful place as part of a group that were being helped by Weldmar to put there lives back together after the death of a loveone this place may or may not suit you,
But if you have an interest in the arts, or just like a quiet place, then if like me you will find this place, a place that will live on in your memories long after you close the car door to go home I visited this place when a lot of sadness was flowing through my vains but still after 5 or 6 months it gives me joy with a thirst to revisit which will be soon.

1  Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDG58, Manager at Sculpture by the Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Colin

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that Sculpture by the Lakes was helpful in some small way at such a difficult time. We very much hope you will be able to revisit us again soon.

Kind regards

The SBTL team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

What an amazing, magical garden. Only wish I had several thousand spare pounds to buy some of the sculptures.

1  Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Rarely I have I been anywhere that displays such thoughtfulness, such style and such quality. The park is peacefully quite, the sculptures are engaging and a bonus for some are the occasional glimpses of the best grayling river in England. I'm quite sure the food would be excellent - but we, unfortunately, were too late to find out. If you only do one thing in Dorset - make it a visit to Sculpture by the Lakes - as you leave you will be trying to work out when you can return.

Thank Aubrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDG58, Manager at Sculpture by the Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Sculpture by the Lakes. Hopefully you can return again and enjoy the Gallery Cafe too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews