We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful pet friendly cottage with great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Wren Cottage sits in an elevated and quiet position in the historic village of Tolpuddle
A modern kitchen diner with painted units and furniture.  Patio doors lead out onto the garden
The dining end of the kitchen - light and bright with country furniture from Neptune
The lounge has flat screen tv, dvd, wi-fi, ipod docking, many games, dvds, and books
Close up of the cast iron electric 'wood burner' - great for a cosy evening in
The king size bedroom is wonderfully quiet - and has views.  Many comment on the comfort of the bed!
The twin bedroom is lovely and bright and has views over countryside.
The view from the bedrooms looks over beautiful countryside - walk on a footpath from the village
The spacious shower room is adjacent to the Main Bedroom - Dorset based Farrow and Ball paints!
A Bathroom with hand held shower attachment is adjacent to the twin bedroom
The garden is a good size - it is safe and fully enclosed.  There is furniture, a parasol and BBQ
The Martyrs Inn, Tolpuddle is nearby and offers great service, good food and a friendly welcom
Burger and Chips at the Martyrs Inn - we are pleased to offer you a discount here
Athelhampton (1.5 miles) a C15 Manor House with gardens, shop, tea room/restaurant, & art gallery
The Tolpuddle Martyrs Museum is a short walk away and tells the story of the Martyrs
The Methodist Chapel, Tolpuddle with memorial arch to the Martyrs
The nearby children's play area has been much praised by visitors
Tolpuddle Village - the old main road runs through the village leaving it nice and quiet these days
Fishing is available at Tolpuddle - a short walk from the cottage
Monkey World - a great day out for all the family
The Piddle Valley boasts some spectacular views - an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
The locals are very friendly at the seaside - try Lulworth, Weymouth, West Bay (Broadchurch)
Dogs are welcome at Wren Cottage - our cocker spaniel Watson enjoying the beach
The village of Moreton (6 miles) - tea rooms, gardens, fabulous church windows, T E Lawrence's grave
Kimmeridge - a new reason to visit is the fabulous Etches Collection of fossils
Nearby Stinsford has the grave of Thomas Hardy
Look out for deer, badgers and hares
Lower Bockhampton - Lovely walk from Stanford, Yalbury Cottage Restaurant & Hardy Visitor Centre
The Dorset County Show - something for everyone to enjoy
We have yet to find a pub which is not dog friendly and many beaches are too - we'll send you a list
From Ringstead Bay you can walk along the coastal path
St Catherine's Chapel - one of many reasons to visit Abbotsbury - the Swannery and Gardens too
Lyme Regis makes for a great day out
Portland lighthouse - windy and wild
Sculpture by the lakes - some 5 miles away - is a haven of peace and tranquility
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scm203
Hampshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful pet friendly cottage with great location”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had a great week at Wren Cottage, the cottage is beautifully decorated and had all amenities we needed for our holiday. The area is stunning, there are some lovely local walks and it was very peaceful. Good local pub just a stroll around the corner. Wren cottage was in a great location for days out around Dorset to Sherbourne, Dorchester, Lulworth cove, Corfe Castle, Swanage etc. Dog friendly cottage which is a must for us and our Lab. The owner always answered our emails swiftly. We will stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
What a lovely review, thank you! It is centrally placed, as you say, for exploring the delights of West Dorset being near enough to the A road for ease of access and yet quiet. As dog owners ourselves, we know it is important to have a safe and secure garden for them and there is a good choice of year round dog friendly beaches and countryside to explore. You'd be very welcome to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter E
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cottage and location are fantastic and full of character. We have plans to return.
The cottage is well equiped and comfortable for a relaxing holiday to recharge the batteries.
Being in a central location, it gives easy access to Dorset's attractions.
The local residents are very friendly and we were made very welcome, along with our labrador dogs.. The Martyrs Inn is well worth a visit.
For the energetic there are a number of local walks, along with many coastal strolls.
I would recommend a swim through the arch at Durdle Door, but wear a wetsuit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
The Martyrs Inn will be pleased to note your comments as, of course, are we! We find that Dorset is a very dog friendly county and have yet to find a pub where our cocker spaniel was not welcome. As you say, the cottage is well located to explore both town and country as well as the Jurassic Coast - I must dig out my wetsuit! Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on Wren Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEORGEWS
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant short stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A mid week booking enabled us to tour around Dorset and the stunning coastline.
The cottage is in a perfect location with a pub with good food on the doorstep!
It is tastefully furnished with everything you could wish for in a holiday let. Comfortable, spacious and in a quiet location. A great Spring break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
We are so glad that you had a good holiday in lovely West Dorset and enjoyed seeing the sights near and far. Good too that you liked the cottage, its quiet location, and the nearby village pub. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had 10 days over Christmas and New Year. House was 'dressed' for Christmas which was a nice touch. Comfortable in every way with good facilities. Located in a peaceful village with a great pub, and a short distance from Dorchester. An all year round holiday let.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
I know from your mail to me on your return that you "had a lovely time at the cottage over Christmas and would certainly recommend it" which is always nice to here. I'm glad that you appreciated the peaceful location and the Martyrs Inn which is very close by and handy for a meal out after a busy day exploring. Thank you for taking the time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursula A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellent home from home”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved this cottage, ideal home from home with excellent facilities and Dog Friendly too! We've stayed at a number of different cottages in Dorset and this is by far the best and our only disappointment is that it's fully booked next year. Would highly recommend this cottage and the owners are very attentive and caring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog Friendly but did not compromise on Quality
Liked least: Nowhere to dry your clothes
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
How lovely to hear that you found Wren Cottage the best of the different Dorset cottages you have stayed in and thanks for the compliment - we try our best! I am confused by the comment that we are "fully booked" for next year ... we are not quite that popular! We do have 8 weeks of 2017 booked but there are plenty left!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bostonian...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful cottage in the heart of Dorsets fantastic countryside”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage is based in a small quiet village. There are several walks from the village or within 20 minutes you have access to beautiful beaches. The cottage has everything you need for your stay, it is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bonus for us is that it was dog friendly and our dog loved the freedom of the small but safe garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2016
As we have a cocker spaniel, we understand how important it is to have a garden that is totally enclosed and safe for a dog to be in. We have stayed at a "dog friendly" cottage ourselves and had to barricade a hole in the fence by moving garden furniture and dustbins to block the hole - not so relaxing!

It's important too to have some good walks nearby (a circular walk taking in Briantspuddle and Throop is particularly recommended) and we love the beaches at Cogden and Ringsted Bay where dogs are welcome all year round.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham M
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful village”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just had a wonderful week in this house with my family.Arrived on Saturday in glorious sunshine and had a drink and meal in the local pub where the owner has negotiated a good discount.
Just about everything has been thought of to make your stay comfortable , coffee maker barbecue dishwasher wifi etc.
Lots of books on the bookshelf about the area plus Ordnance Survey maps-Thankyou very much , this was a nice thought...we enjoy birdwatching and there was even a book about the local birdwatching spots which resulted in an evening watching nightjars which was a real delight.
On a practical note there was a minor issue with electrics/alarm during our stay but this was rectified within an hour of us contacting the owner who turned out an engineer without quibble.
One tip ....the bookings are Friday to Friday...this is made quite clear but for some inexplicable reason we assumed it was Saturday to Saturday....I was very red faced when the cleaner arrived to prepare for changeover and I thought we had an extra night !
Again this was handled with sensitive humour by the owners and a very nice e-mail on our return home...we will definitely book again (and read the small print !!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: village location
Liked least: leaving to come home !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review - you were certainly unlucky with your holiday and I would not have been surprises if we had not heard from you again! It was a pleasure to have you as holidaymakers and I do hope that you return again without incident next time. As you know, the alarm incident is now resolved and I am so glad we were able to get an emergency engineer out so quickly to you that evening. You are the second holidaymakers to make the mistake over the arrival and departure day - I have tried to resolve this issue by stating "Friday" on all documentation but I will also make up a note to go in the Visitor Folder as another precaution.

Lovely to hear about the nightjars - next time you should visit the various RSPB sites in the area as well as Portland where they often get rare bird sightings.

Thanks again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing