We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great topiary”

Athelhampton House and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century house has a peaceful garden dating from 1891.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great topiary”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

lovely afternoon looking around if a bit pricey. sunday lunch looked very good but did not partake. the area around is lovely Dorset is a very picturesque county.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenJanehoggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    133
    28
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Gorgeous grounds in a old old building, large eating area, drinks not badly priced compared to other homes like this

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went with my 87 year old mother to Athelhampton House today. We decided to have a lunch there first before exploring the house and gardens.
Lunch was superb - lovely beef hotpot and also a ploughmans lunch with which I, maybe foolishly, ordered a side order of chips - massive amount of chips which I had to leave half of.
The house and grounds were wonderful - no rushing, just take as long as you like to explore everywhere - a loan copy of the guide book is available to be returned when you leave.
The staff without exception were extremely pleasant and knowledgeable.
Bought tickets online which saved us £2 each.
To sum up we had a really nice day out - plus the weather was superb !!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MusicjunkieNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Angleterre
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited here on a very wet, cold day during half-term week.
The house had a homely feel to it, improved by the roaring log fire.
We spent quite a while chatting to the guides - Clare and Emma - who were very helpful and full of information - they are a credit to you.
We discovered that the film Sleuth had been filmed here in the Seventies.
Loved the Marevna gallery.
Had a stroll around the extensive gardens - they must be gorgeous in better weather.
Will definitely return if in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A beautiful house, an ideal and picture perfect wonderful
Place for an amazing wedding, the food was delicious and the staff were friendly and so efficient.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athelhampton House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Athelhampton House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing