We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly welcome down in Dorset.”

Athelhampton House and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century house has a peaceful garden dating from 1891.
Trowbridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very friendly welcome down in Dorset.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We last visited this property in 2000 & decided we were well overdue for another visit.
What a welcome we received. Nothing was too much trouble for the very well trained staff.
On arrival we had coffee,all waitress service with reasonable prices in the restaurant.
The gardens are full of hidden corners & apart from the fountains are kept in excellent order.
When you go around the house they don`t push a handbook for £5. under your nose,but give you one on loan as you enter the house & you can then buy one afterwards if you wish.
The house was a free flow one & you could spend as long as you wished in each room & the guide in the Grand Hall downstairs was very knowledgeable & enthusiastic. I imagine that on busy days they have guides around the house ,but not when we went.
We decided to visit the restaurant again at lunchtime & it was very busy with a large party.
As it was Sunday there was a carvery on offer with a choice of 3 meat dishes & loads of vegetables. My wife had soup & I had a hot pork sandwich,served with garnish & apple sauce.
Nothing was too much trouble & as we didn`t order drinks out came a large jug of water.
It was the best experience of a Restaurant in a stately home we have ever come across.
National Trust take note!.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolianexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    140
    29
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a glorious place”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Was blown away by the gardens. Round every corner was another unique area in the garden, with lots of hidden areas to explore. Whoever created the garden was a true artist. Hiuse was nice and restaurant great. Great day out

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Madscot70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely house and gardens.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Gorgeous old 15th c fortified manor house with lots of original furnishings set in wonderful award winning formal gardens which are divided into several individual areas, really a joy to visit. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Athelhampton”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We re-visited Athelhampton on Bank Holiday Monday and whilst there were a lot of people there you could still find quiet and tranquil spots within the house and grounds.
This is a truly lovely stately home on a small scale but this does not detract from the architecture or gardens it is a wonderful place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best carvery around!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visted last Sunday specifically for the carvery and it didn't disappoint. The price (£11.95) is well justified, with top quality, fresh ingredients. Any dietry requests are catered for by the friendly and helpful staff. The selection of veg was brilliant (from carrots, to cauli cheese, mashed swede and red cabbage), everything you want from a carvery (three meat choices) and more (delicious gravy, stuffing and a large homemade yorkie!). Would recommend booking on a Sunday as they seem to get busy. Looking forward to returning again soon, highly recommend - a great place for a family meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athelhampton House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Athelhampton House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing