We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to satisfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste Brasserie

Taste Brasserie
Ranked #10 of 122 Restaurants in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dorchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have visited Taste regularly for a number of years; it is definitely my restaurant of choice in Dorchester (and there are plenty to chose from). The staff are always attentive, the food is good, reasonably priced and caters for a variety of tastes and appetites. Give it a go and I am sure that you will be as satisfied as I am.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    69
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tapas evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Yet again a brilliant evening at Taste. The tapas food was the best yet and as always Todd and his team were the best. Thanks guys for another good time. Also still got the best coffee in town.

Linda and Alan

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMM5768, Owner at Taste Brasserie, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed it, we will do another tapas evening soon, I promise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Neither fish nor Fowl”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Says its a Cafe (yes) Bistro (maybe) and Restaurant (NO). What a disappointment! We were looking forward to a meal here having eaten regularly at Todd Moffat's restaurant in Stony Stratford (before he left for Dorset). It really is an up market snack bar. There was no cooked fish on the menu nor anything meat other than steak, despite the efforts of a young and enthusiastic waiting staff.

I had the steak,fries and salad (wish I had opted for the mushrooms instead as the salad was awash with olive oil).The steak was requested as medium but turned our to be nearly rare. My spouse opted for the cheese platter (upmarket Ploughmans) which she found acceptable.

As a wine afficionado I was impressed with the short wine list with 2 french,2 italian and 2 NZ wines with 1 each from chile and spain. Price were competitive ranging from £13.95 upwards and the wines from a variety of grapes.

I had a cinamon pastry which was mostly cooked ( my spouse said undercooked). Have read so much about the coffee on these pages I opted for a house coffee. I left over half of it.

Until Mr Moffat puts more "restaurant" dishes on the menu we will not bother to come again, shame really as he is opening up another branch in weymouth next week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YeOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMM5768, Owner at Taste Brasserie, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
THank you for your recent review, I am sorry that we did not impress you, but I feel you are comparing taste to our first restaurant in Stony Stratford, which was a different kettle of fish altogether. we are definitely a Cafe style bistro. please give us another go and try some of our specials or visit me at taste at Chesil Beach
regards Todd Moffat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a coffee, chat and lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Taste* is a lovely cafe in the center of town. I go here quite often with my friends to meet for lunch or even just a coffee and a catch-up. The staff are always attentative, helpful and really friendly. Prices are reasonable for freshly cooked food and they have a changing specials menu, which keeps lunches interesting. They also accommodate children and pushchairs very easily. The only problem is, that it is so good, it is almost always busy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RixaMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place for a coffee or lunch, can well recommend it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Have coffee here every week and sometimes lunch. Not tried evenings.
Food well presented and tasty. Inspirational menus.
Staff v friendly and efficient.
Well recommended

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Brasserie also viewed

Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
 
Dorchester, Dorset
 

Been to Taste Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing