We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding locally. We were delighted that our expectations were exceeded and we found the bedroom, amenities and customer service to be first class. Our breakfast (which was excellent), was included in the very reasonable price. We would definitely stay there again and thoroughly recommend for any traveller to the Dorchester area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 378 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent our anniversary in Dorchester at this hotel. We firstly found the parking very difficult. It was raining when we arrived in the evening and I think there is parking for approximately 8 cars. If you are unlucky enough to not have a space in the car park (us), then you have to put it on a parking meter. It's free after 6pm, but the problem is that you have to be up and have paid for parking or moved your car by 8am. It's no fun when it's raining and you want a lay in.
The reason that you'll want a lay in if you have stayed in rooms 100 -108 (I think) is because you can hear people talking in the rooms beside you and flush the chains of their loo. The floors are so worn and creaky that when people are walking in the corridor, your bed moves!!! So 3 nights left us very tired.
The food was ok, the staff were lovely and the building certainly had character, but I would not stay again. 2 out of 5 for service effort.

Room Tip: If you have booked here already and they lead you to rooms 100 - 108 (I think) you will hear/feel th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Her-idea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel and we really enjoyed our one night stay.
Plus points are:-
the restaurant. The food is delicious, beautifully presented and generous. They cater for vegetarians and fussy children (my son only wanted a bacon sandwich for his dinner).
The members of staff are very attentive.
The hotel is clean and immaculately presented.
Our room was spacious and the beds were firm and comfy.
There is onsite car parking for 6-8 cars but it is 'snug'.
The bathroom is small but practical. The water is very hot but I ran a bath for my child because I didnt want to risk him being scalded in the shower. He really enjoyed it for a change.

Room for improvement ? A blackout blind for the windows as there was a street lamp directly outside one of our windows.

This is a Georgian building. There is no lift. But there are quirky spiral staircases and random landings. There is neither double glazing nor aircon (although a fan is provided). There are creaky floorboards which add character and charm - if you like that sort of thing.

There is an electric heater in the room which suggests it may get cool in the winter.

Bottom line is that we would stay here again although probably not in high summer.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank REG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and reasonably comfortable (though the beds are on casters and drift away from the headboard) and the taps require a safe-crackers skill to find a temperature to find a temperature between scolding and icy. This is NOT the place to stay on a hot summer night. The rooms are stultifyingly hot. It is rather like being in a kitchen with the oven doors open. The windows are painter over, one opens a few inches. Pathetic fan only rearranges the heat. Perhaps a place to go in winter if you're stuck, but in summer, only for sauna enthusiasts.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickRick852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Booked in for one Monday night. We parked in the Hotel car park which was not a problem, even when we went out for the afternoon. Our room was the Thomas Hardy room on the first floor, overlooking the rear of the hotel. I was initially disappointed as I'd asked for a city view but as Thomas Hardy is my favourite author, I didn't count it against them. Four poster bed was a proper old wooden one, lovely and high and very romantic. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom! modern, beautifully fitted with a spa bath and enough room for 2 not so little ones!
Food is excellent here. We both had the Roasted Belly Pork dish which was delicious - amazing at the price. I cannot understand why the restaurant isn't packed. Slept very well, had a very tasty breakfast with perfectly soft poached eggs. Thank you, Wessex Royale.

Room Tip: Thomas Hardy room is a beautiful four poster room with a spa bath and separate shower. Overlooks co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkibroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights as my daughter was in the nearby Hosp having my grandson the staff were all amazing no matter what time of day and I really felt they were all so supportive and bent over backwards in every way to help me. The hotel and rooms all spotless and food lovely. Thank u all, and I look forward to my next stay

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank careless333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as it looked an old and interesting hotel; which it was, with the corridors being uneven which made for an interesting walk to your room.
On the plus side the room we were allocated was spacious and the king sized bed a treat to behold. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The food was of good quality with plenty of it and the prices reasonable. The lounge area was also furnished out well.
The minuses were not many. Car parking was a minor irritation as it was first come, first served, with not a lot of room to turn the car around to exit the car parking area.The shower was hit or miss with regard to hot water, it was either scalding or cold (although there was a notice on the bathroom wall to advise us that there was a problem beyond the hotel's control with regard to water pressure). The room we were allocated was at the rear of the hotel and could have benefited from some form of secondary glazing as there was some traffic noise for the light sleeper. As previously mentioned the food was of good quality but we found that at breakfast items were not replenished very quickly, f at all. We were at breakfast with a full hour to go to the end of breakfast we found that when we had finished the cooked breakfast there were no croissants left, if required, and that when we arrived at the dining room there were only one or two remaining which if we had taken prior to the cooked breakfast would have meant that some people who wanted a breakfast without anything being cooked would have had to wait for fresh to be cooked. Also the yoghurts were left to go down to a low level and also were not replaced.
But these little niggles apart an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
160 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
11.0 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
114 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
195 reviews
24.6 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel

Address: 32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England (Formerly Wessex Royale Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: $79 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break.The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested.All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with “home away from home” comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome. The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.The Wessex Royale Hotel is a family friendly option near the many activities and attractions in the area, including Maiden Castle, Roman Townhouse, Thomas Hardy’s cottage, the Tutankhamun Exhibition, and Dinosaur Museum.Food and wine aficionados will appreciate the in house restaurant, which offers specialty cuisine, homemade desserts, and an impressive wine list. There is also a locally popular bar and lounge, perfect for afternoon tea or a quick glass of beer. This hotel is a popular venue for weddings and other intimate occasions. Limited free parking is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester
Minotel Hotel Wessex Royale
Minotel Dorchester
Dorchester Minotel
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing