We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Whitsun bank holiday break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Whitsun bank holiday break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as it looked an old and interesting hotel; which it was, with the corridors being uneven which made for an interesting walk to your room.
On the plus side the room we were allocated was spacious and the king sized bed a treat to behold. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The food was of good quality with plenty of it and the prices reasonable. The lounge area was also furnished out well.
The minuses were not many. Car parking was a minor irritation as it was first come, first served, with not a lot of room to turn the car around to exit the car parking area.The shower was hit or miss with regard to hot water, it was either scalding or cold (although there was a notice on the bathroom wall to advise us that there was a problem beyond the hotel's control with regard to water pressure). The room we were allocated was at the rear of the hotel and could have benefited from some form of secondary glazing as there was some traffic noise for the light sleeper. As previously mentioned the food was of good quality but we found that at breakfast items were not replenished very quickly, f at all. We were at breakfast with a full hour to go to the end of breakfast we found that when we had finished the cooked breakfast there were no croissants left, if required, and that when we arrived at the dining room there were only one or two remaining which if we had taken prior to the cooked breakfast would have meant that some people who wanted a breakfast without anything being cooked would have had to wait for fresh to be cooked. Also the yoghurts were left to go down to a low level and also were not replaced.
But these little niggles apart an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    124
    62
    14
    13
See reviews for
54
150
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had two nights in a 'suite' at the rear of the hotel. We were lucky and had parking in the hotel car park.

Quiet enough and the bed was really comfortable. Some of the floor-boards may creak, but this hotel is clean and warm.

Previous reviewers have mentioned the shower - lack of pressure/alternating hot and cold - and that's true, but a good hot bath did the trick, especially after a day of walking.

Breakfasts were great; we ate out in the evening, but the menu looked tempting.

Really professional and warm staff.

We'd certainly recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Parking at the hotel isn't ideal but that is expected with the location being central Dorchester, the hotel has other options which are only minutes away (I had to use the other options). As I entered the hotel there was a member of staff passing and immediately he stopped what he was doing to direct me to reception before then assisting me to my room and taking my bag as well! The room itself was at the back of the hotel above the car park. It was absolutely spotless! There were complimentary tea and coffee, also two bottles of Hildon water. Toiletries were available if you had forgotten anything. The floorboards were fairly creaky and even trying to walk quietly on them as not to disturb other guests was difficult. It wasn't the best nights sleep but that couldn't be helped as it was a friday night and the crowds were out. The windows were single pane but you can't really change that when keeping to the rustic look of the building.
Breakfast was exceptional, a well lit area with radio playing quietly, i was offered tea or coffee (very generous amounts) before being offered the buffet before a member of staff taking my order for a cooked breakfast with eggs cooked however I wanted. There were also options for eggs benidict or salmon.
Overall it has to be one of the best hotels i've stayed in! Including the likes of Hilton's and Marriott's around the world! The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, always ready to go beyond what is expected of them!

Thank you for a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a great little hotel in Dorchester - Friendly and helpful staff and a really good restaurant.

The rooms are very nice, but if you have a room at the front and you are a light sleeper you may want ear plugs as it fronts onto the road.

The restaurant is excellent - and has an interesting menu of home cooked food.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albia-Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The lack of parking (or even dropping off space) creates a bad impression but there is plenty of parking nearby which is either free or inexpensive. The lounge was busy with a wedding fair as we arrived which didn't help. However the staff were charming and helpful throughout our stay. We had a twin room at the back which was very quiet and we slept well. If you are light sleepers ask for a room at the back. The overbath shower wasn't brilliant: it was difficult to keep it at the right temperature. The free morning newspaper was appreciated. We ate in the town on two evenings but in the hotel on the last one. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. The hotel undersells its restaurant. On one evening I wanted some coffee in the lounge at about 10.30 and although he was busy the barman went out of his way to provide me with a pot of coffee and to make me feel welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked three nights in a courtyard room. The courtyard also doubled as the hotel parking lot, (room only for 10 cars), despite this it was quiet and bright. The room was clean, fresh and airy, tea, coffee and biscuits available and room service if required.

Excellent menu for breakfast, evening meals, light meals, snacks and sandwiches. All food sourced locally and delicious. You do have to wait a little while for the food to arrive but this is because it is prepared as requested and not stuck on a hot plate.

Central location in Dorchester and a good base for exploring Dorset.

The staff are friendly and professional. The reception is manned 24 hours.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are accessible to those who cannot manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, clean and comfortable with character. Nice breakfast and the bar snacks we had were great and well priced.

Our room was at the front and there is the expected road noise from being in the town centre but this was not a problem. This was easily out-weighed by staying in a period hotel with such charm. Small car park but hotel has plenty of suggestions for nearby alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
Address: 32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England (Formerly Wessex Royale Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break.The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested.All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with “home away from home” comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome. The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.The Wessex Royale Hotel is a family friendly option near the many activities and attractions in the area, including Maiden Castle, Roman Townhouse, Thomas Hardy’s cottage, the Tutankhamun Exhibition, and Dinosaur Museum.Food and wine aficionados will appreciate the in house restaurant, which offers specialty cuisine, homemade desserts, and an impressive wine list. There is also a locally popular bar and lounge, perfect for afternoon tea or a quick glass of beer. This hotel is a popular venue for weddings and other intimate occasions. Limited free parking is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester
Minotel Hotel Wessex Royale
Minotel Dorchester
Dorchester Minotel
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing