We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for two days at this hotel,the bedroom was lovely, very clean. with a lovely soft bed, we were on the first floor overlooking the main road,a little traffic noise. The food was good and the staff very helpful...However the parking at the back was alittle tight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzzieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Parking can be a little tight sometimes, so we always offer to pay for parking if guests have to park elsewhere.

We hope to welcome you back to the Wessex again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    142
    70
    18
    16
See reviews for
59
175
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with family after a funeral.Good room,spotlessly clean but the bed! I like a firm bed

but this was like a rock and I didn't realise that it was only a double bed not a kingsize,so I didn't

get much sleep.However great cooked breakfast to compensate.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking car park are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanjeanie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. I am sorry to hear that you didnt sleep to well.

However we are really pleased to hear that you really enjoyed the Breakfast and the Service. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. We had a free upgrade to a very nicely appointed room when we arrived and, although it faced on to the busy Main Street, the traffic noise did not seem overly intrusive. The restaurant was quiet when we ate (at about half past eight in the evening) but the service was good and the food delicious. The mattress was very hard, and that would be the only downside to our stay: we would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we always try to upgrade people where possible. We hope to welcome you back to the Wessex in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night on business. Chose this hotel as it had parking at the rear. Receptionist was friendly and welcoming. However, the room at the very top of the hotel was small with a very hard bed and was generally shabby. There was a tiny bath in the not very clean bathroom. Enamel on bath was chipped, shower was poor. Staff at breakfast were again very friendly and served a good meal. I'm sure if I'd had a decent room the whole experience would have been fine for the money but I left feeling as though I had been ripped off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you comments and taking the time to rate us. Iam really sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your room, i can only apologise for this. However, i am really pleased to hear that the service that the staff provided was good and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stopped here last week,very lucky with the parking opposite, I was surprised by the lack of attention when arriving into the hotel, no real indication either of where the reception was, and the young lady who finally served us did not seem in any hurry or did not seem to be interested in asking us if we wanted service. The initial feeling when first walking into the hotel was pretty boring decor, despite this we asked for lunch not being told there was a restaurant ,we only found out when we went to the rest room and we had to ask about it,as the chairs were on top of the tables at the time, but within minutes the restaurant was opened up for us and we sat down to enjoy a pretty good lunch of a beer battered haddock with French frites, excellent fresh fare although the size of the fish was small ,but certainly on quality of the food the restaurant is worth a visit, and in the end the service was ok , perhaps we caught them on a day of staff interviewing and hiring, one can only hope that the new staff they were interviewing turn out to be more attentive than the present staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest.
We would like to thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. I am sorry to hear that your lunch didnt start of to well, i can only apologise for this, however i am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Lunch.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is friendly and clean and I had a really good breakfast, BUT the bed in my superior room was so firm I found it difficult to sleep. They are on a busy road with high buildings the other side so although large rooms they feel airless. The wifi is not great. Also the parking is in lines in a tight long area so you have to wait to get out sometimes and need to be good reverser.
But the food is fresh and very good and the staff helpful.
With a comfy mattress I would have awarded a four to five mark, the bed is for me the most important thing with cleanliness. The hotel has a lot of character and is in the main part of Dorchester.

Room Tip: Ask for a medium to firm mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager W, Manager at Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. We are sorry to hear that you didnt sleep to well.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Wessex Royale Hotel is a comfortable old fashioned establishment. It delivers everything that one could ask for. It is right in the centre of Dorchester and has free parking (limited) you can also park in the street opposite until 8am for free.

Our room (superior double) had a huge comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and free bottled water. The bathroom was good with lots of fluffy towels.

Everything worked, the I staff are very pleasant and helpful it is very clean and well kept.

We had breakfast which was good and freshly cooked and served with a smile.

This hotel is not trendy or flash, it is slightly old fashioned which is part of the charm. We loved it and will use it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
6.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
185 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isle of Portland
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,072 reviews
7.7 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
647 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Address: 32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England (Formerly Wessex Royale Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break.The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested.All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with “home away from home” comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome. The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.The Wessex Royale Hotel is a family friendly option near the many activities and attractions in the area, including Maiden Castle, Roman Townhouse, Thomas Hardy’s cottage, the Tutankhamun Exhibition, and Dinosaur Museum.Food and wine aficionados will appreciate the in house restaurant, which offers specialty cuisine, homemade desserts, and an impressive wine list. There is also a locally popular bar and lounge, perfect for afternoon tea or a quick glass of beer. This hotel is a popular venue for weddings and other intimate occasions. Limited free parking is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester
Minotel Hotel Wessex Royale
Minotel Dorchester
Dorchester Minotel
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing