We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful value for money.”

Dorset Teddy Bear Museun
Ranked #16 of 40 things to do in Dorchester
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful value for money.”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A very small museum, which my son found a little creepy. Some very large and dusty-looking bears which could do with some restoration. Not much to do except look at the glass cases filled with teddy bears, this only took about 15 minutes. There was a very small selection available to buy but they were expensive and there wasn't much choice. I wouldn't make a special journey to see it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Constanza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    31
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“This is fantastic”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My 6 year old daughter loved this. Even my 46 year old husband loved this. They give you a story to read at the beginning to work your way around the different rooms, would recommend doing this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BinfieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Vfm not!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Poor value for money. Almost 16 pounds for the three of us to enter which the lady had trouble adding up. Eerie and dusty. Some lovely bears but not entertaining. All over in ten mins. Take your child to a toy shop not here!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
326 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Seriously get a grip - this place is extraordinary”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

OK first things first. I agree about the prices which are silly. But they are worth paying for what is one of the most surreal places I have ever been. The lady downstairs had a very strange manner, then you head upstairs and see room after room of dusty teddy bears wearing victorian clothes in rooms with family-style black and white photos of teddy bears and old school furniture (literally old school desks with holes for ink wells).

It's very eerie and feels like something out of the League of Gentlemen but I can barely think of a more atmospheric museum - my little girl was a bit creeped out by the place and actually in some ways it's probably more suitable for adults than kids. Those moaning about the Sooty music box - it's only 20p for heaven's sake! Lots of nostalgic toys and books in cabinets, really takes you back to the 70s and 80s.

Brilliant, brilliant place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Was ok!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Teddy bear museum keeps the kids amused for 5 minutes and parts are informative but it is basically the upstairs of a house.This in turn means it's jam packed at busy times and probably not even safe. Definitely not worth the money though I'm afraid.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Colette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorset Teddy Bear Museun also viewed

 

Been to Dorset Teddy Bear Museun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing