We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Yalbury Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yalbury Cottage
Ranked #3 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2008

The best B & B we have ever stayed in
Very friendly and helpful
Spacious rooms, beautifully decorated, special touches, bottled water, ground coffee and cafetiere. Bathroom spacious, power shower, big fluffy towels.
Very peaceful
Dining room intimate, elegent, food superb, service perfect, very enjoyable

Cant wait to go again

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 292 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2008

What a lovely stay we had! Although my mum and I were only there for one night as they were quite busy, it was for a special occassion--her birthday --and the owners and their family could not have made us more welcome. The food is to die for--we are talking five star and one of the best meals I have had in a long time! The b and b is in a picturesque village near Hardy's cottage, with lovely walking trails and views over the meadows with grazing horses. If you can, definitely stay more than a night and explore the area! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HampshireAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B&B for our 10th wedding anniversary. The owners Ariane and Jamie made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The room we had was lovely and so peaceful with great views out over the hills behind the hotel. However, the best thing about this place is without a doubt the food! You can't even consider staying here without booking to eat in the restaurant on at least one occassion. It is quite possibly among the best restaurants we have been to in this country! All the food is locally sourced and produced. The breakfast is amazing... you just have to try the eggy bread home made brioche with raisins and orange maple syrup! We loved this place so much that we booked to go again in August before we'd even left.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosieChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We have just arrived home after a lovely weekend at Yalbury Cottage. The new owners took over in December 2007 and are already creating something special.

The rooms are fine, nicely presented and clean. What sets Yalbury apart though is the welcoming atmosphere and the excellent food prepared by Jamie. Dinner was superb and something to take time enjoying, served in lovely surroundings. Breakfast was as good as it gets and enjoyed all the more for an early morning walk along the lanes and footpaths beforehand.

We were looking for a base whilst visiting an aunt in Dorchester but found so much more. We will readily return but as we are some three hours away by car, not as often as we would like.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ingatestonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank SwindonBubsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank St-Lucia_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Dr_K_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalburyCottage, Owner at Yalbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
1.6 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
3.1 mi away
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Poundbury
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
159 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yalbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yalbury Cottage

Address: Lower Bockhampton, Dorchester DT2 8PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yalbury Cottage is a wonderful Dorset country house hotel, near Dorchester. Offering cozy accommodation and award winning cuisine, serving only the very best local produce available. Set in the heart of Thomas Hardy's Dorset and just a short walk from the cottage where he was born and grew up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Yalbury Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yalbury Cottage Hotel Dorchester
Yalbury Cottage Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing