We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Yalbury Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yalbury Cottage
Ranked #2 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Although Yalbury Cottage is only a few miles from where we live, it feels like a million miles away. Ariane is a great, friendly hostess and Jamie's food is out of this world! We have had a few evening meals there since Ariane and Jamie took over Yalbury Cottage but now and again, we treat ourselves to an overnight stay. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Even when Jamie is out of the kitchen, breakfast is fantastic. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolwff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    34
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
156
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great stay once again at Yalbury Cottage. Thanks to Ariane and Jamie for help organising a birthday dinner and stay. Ariane is a wonderful hostess and Jamie a wonderful cook. Thanks for making it a special celebration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed for a short break at Yalbury Cottage which is situated in the peaceful, picturesque village of Lower Bockhampton, conveniently situated for visiting nearby Dorchester and further afield. When we arrived, we parked in the spacious car park and were surprised to see so many beautiful butterflies in the peaceful garden. We were delighted to receive a warm welcome from the pleasant proprietor, Ariane. Our room was clean, neat, tidy and comfortable, overlooking farmland and there were horses in the nearby field. In the evening, we enjoyed canapés with our pre-dinner drinks. The highlight of our visit though was the evening meals in the oak-beamed restaurant – they were near perfection! The home-made bread roles were lovely. For main course, we chose prime aged local beef fillet medallion, rosti potato, spiced butternut puree and wild mushroom sauce, both nights – amongst the best, tastiest steak we have ever had. We also chose dressed Portland crab, crisp bruschetta and lemon mayonnaise for starter – absolutely delicious. Breakfast was of a similarly high standard. We couldn’t fault the friendly service. We will definitely return for a longer stay and would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
241 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lovely food. Cozy lounge from where you order your drinks in the evening. Good selection of drinks by the glass, including champagne. Nice decor and ambience. Lovely views from the bedroom window. Bed firm and gives a good night's sleep. Nice toiletries and towels. Lots of wardrobe and drawer space.Quiet room with no disturbance. Beautiful garden with lovely grouped seating arrangments. Service efficient.
A car is essential to get here as a little way outside Dorchester.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights with our dog,and we were all genuinely welcomed! Great breakfasts, the evening meals superb, easy parking, lovely walks for the dog, with the outside patio area very comfortable. Room and bathroom were both well equipped and extremely clean, shower was fine, towels changed even though we tried to be green, bed and pillows could have been firmer but that is a personal view. Excellent hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaineshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here for a night last week. Had one of the best meals for a long time - comparable to any restaurant we've been to in London.

Extensive wine menu with a great little summary of each wine - why can't more places do that? We went with a bottle of Riesling and also a glass of the Grenache/Merlot from Pays d'Oc - both were very very good wines.

Canapes were served to start with in the nice, little, quaint, cottage lounge - we had to laugh about some locals near us talking about cider and pitchforks in their strong Dorset accent - very fitting! The restaurant is cosy, with a nice fire at one end.

both had the Lyme scallops for starter which were very good and for main I had the lamb which was outstanding and my girlfriend had the hake which she also enjoyed very much. We then had a cheese course which had an excellent range of local cheeses and afterwards our deserts were sublime - I had the white chocolate, vanilla panna cotta with some ice cream and strawberries - really very good (too good really...). We could've also had some coffee and petit fours included in the price but we were too full by this point...

And all this came to just £30 each - value that can't be beaten anywhere. Would've happily paid double.

Thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the service was good the whole time and Ariana was friendly and attentive. It was local British, seasonal food at its best.

Bedroom was fine, no complaints, comfy bed, decent bathroom.

Breakfast was again fantastic. Good choice of cooked breakfasts with us both going for the full english - one of the best I'e ever had and all of the ingredients were sourced from within 10miles of the restaurant. Good coffee also.

Fantastic stay at the Yalbury and even though it's a two and a half hour drive from where we live we would drive down there for the night just to have another superb meal and breakfast, will definitely be returning. Lovely cottage also with a thatched roof and rolling hills around it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hefferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great location, close to Dorchester & Weymouth - why trek all the way to Devon & Cornwall when this gem is so much closer?
To reiterate a previous comment - book dinner with your room. The restaurant has such a good reputation that it is extremely popular with non-residents. The food is locally sourced and fabulous. The mini Scotch eggs sublime!
There are nice touches, such as decent sized mugs in the room and a cafetiere in the room. The owners & staff were very welcoming and made for a professional but relaxed atmosphere and service.
For my personal preference the bed was a little soft, but others may feel it is perfect.
Would definitely recommend to others and would like to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.3 mi away
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Poundbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yalbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yalbury Cottage

Property: Yalbury Cottage
Address: Lower Bockhampton, Dorchester DT2 8PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yalbury Cottage is a wonderful Dorset country house hotel, near Dorchester. Offering cozy accommodation and award winning cuisine, serving only the very best local produce available. Set in the heart of Thomas Hardy's Dorset and just a short walk from the cottage where he was born and grew up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Yalbury Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yalbury Cottage Hotel Dorchester
Yalbury Cottage Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing