We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cottage B&B with fab restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yalbury Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yalbury Cottage
Ranked #2 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage B&B with fab restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great location, close to Dorchester & Weymouth - why trek all the way to Devon & Cornwall when this gem is so much closer?
To reiterate a previous comment - book dinner with your room. The restaurant has such a good reputation that it is extremely popular with non-residents. The food is locally sourced and fabulous. The mini Scotch eggs sublime!
There are nice touches, such as decent sized mugs in the room and a cafetiere in the room. The owners & staff were very welcoming and made for a professional but relaxed atmosphere and service.
For my personal preference the bed was a little soft, but others may feel it is perfect.
Would definitely recommend to others and would like to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    34
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
155
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Really nice cottage in a great location outside Dorchester. Close enough to get to Weymouth and th coast quickly. Breakfast was superb and overall very good value for money. Only minor point was the shower could have been a tad more powerful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you are booking B&B as we were, (in our case two nights away from the children), you MUST book dinner for each night. Jamie is a culinary genius, using entirely locally sourced produce (from within a radius of 10 miles I believe) to produce the most wonderful gastronomic creations. While his artistry with the presentation of the food is superb, his primary focus and skill is in combining tastes and flavours to produce food that is a joy to eat.

We enjoyed our stay in Room 7 - comfortable, pleasantly large enough, and well equipped.

Thank you Jamie and Ariane!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We are local so will be unlikely to stay so this review is for the restaurant only.

Anyway, I now know why it is hard to get a reservation here. The food and service is excellent and the prices match what you get. The flavours of all our courses flowed, the portions just right and the wine excellent but well priced. I had the fillet of beef. Although I like my steak well done the taste and texture were great. My wife had the “vegetarian tapas” which was both tasty and interesting.

This place is a “gem”. I can’t fault Yalbury Cottage Restaurant. We have rebooked for July.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buiness Class
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We celebrated our Pearl Wedding Anniversary here by having the most wonderful meal ever. We cannot comment on any of the rooms as we stayed at The Old Manor, Kingston Mauward, just down the road. However, everything was just perfect for us to celebrate our special day, one of which we shall never forget. A BIG thank you to all

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyeyes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here and ate here on Friday the 8th June. Room beautifully decorated lovely view super room 7. Beautiful gardens and decor throughout. Whilst having drinks we were given homemade scotch eggs, olives and stuffed cherry tomatoes. My evening meal consisted of crab souffle, rack of lamb 3 chops, dauphinoise potatoes, ratatouille and broad beans, cheese board and chocolate praline marquise pudding. All for £36, I feel they could charge double and I'd still pay it. As for the breakfast apart from a nasty all inclusive buffet I've never seen so much food. Lovely fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, juices and 14 hot options from the kitchen. If you're expecting a michellin starred restaurant you will get it, the rooms are beautiful b and b rooms not caverness chain hotel rooms. Will definately be going back it was great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Tasty food, haven't stayed in a room yet but sure they will be very good too!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
Duchess of Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Poundbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.2 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yalbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yalbury Cottage

Property: Yalbury Cottage
Address: Lower Bockhampton, Dorchester DT2 8PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yalbury Cottage is a wonderful Dorset country house hotel, near Dorchester. Offering cozy accommodation and award winning cuisine, serving only the very best local produce available. Set in the heart of Thomas Hardy's Dorset and just a short walk from the cottage where he was born and grew up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Yalbury Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yalbury Cottage Hotel Dorchester
Yalbury Cottage Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing