We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Lovely Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed here at the last minute for a business trip and initially wasn't impressed due to having no onsite parking, however, there is a very cheap Pay and display only a few minutes away. Once I'd got past that frustration and check in, the hotel couldn't have been better. Very friendly welcome by Melz, shown directly to my room and given all the information needed for my stay. I actually ate out that evening so can't comment on the food (Numerous places to eat in short walking distance), but the room itself was lovely. Great comfy bed, big TV, mini fridge, nice shower.. ideal of business and pleasure. Would very happily stay there again, car park or otherwise, and actually thinking of returning with the Mrs for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Aliensurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 283 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just the one night stopover on business. Located centrally and handy for anywhere central in Dorchester. Travelling by car, I was a little reluctant about my choice of Westwood House but arriving after 6pm I was able to park across the road for free until 8am - and even then the parking is not extortionate or designed to put you off visiting Dorchester! I was in the top room on the third floor, which could be a challenge to others. First time in Dorchester and it is all a stone's throw away from the front door. Breakfast was a treat and I appreciated the impressive selections of jams and spreads. Hope to be back....

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEdwinI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in the family room back in April, our children are 7 and 5 and we booked one night as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday and a family lunch in Weymouth on the Sunday. We usually stay in hotels and hadn't stayed in a B&B for sometime. Westwood House is a beautifully decorated house and the owners are really helpful and friendly. We checked in early so that we could get ready which was no problem at all. The beds are super comfy and the breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this delightful guest house. Melz welcomed us and showed us to our room at the front of the building overlooking the main road. I was concerned about road noise but the secondary glazing was very effective. The room was nicely decorated and furnished with a good selection of drinks and a fridge in which we found fresh milk, a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, toast and local produce cooked to order. Location is excellent, and although there's no car parking at the property the car park is close by and inexpensive. Wifi works well. Enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cjb_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Friendly accommodating hotel. Nice facilities. Wonderful breakfasts. We stayed here for 2 nights, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great central location, walking distance to everything.

The hotel doesn't offer parking. There is a pay lot just down the street, Have change as it doesn't accept cards.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on the lower floors as there isn't a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarthYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. Feels like being in someones (big) home, with a truly warm and unique house and room interiour. The service was excellent and we both felt welcome from the very beginning. Also, make sure you don't miss out on the breakfast as it was really good. We had Eggs Benedict and Eggs Royale, both of which were cooked to perfection.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Oskar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Tom and Melz made us feel very much at home here from the moment that we set foot in the house.Being animal lovers we were overjoyed with the two dogs (and the book of photos about them) and every morning, at breakfast we had the cat wandering around to see everyone and purring contentedly. Food was excellent, there is no other word to describe it; the ambiance was great, the music well suited and unobtrusive and we enjoyed every moment. There was a lot of good, up to date information about the town and its attractions and we were given plenty of good advice about good restaurants, places to visit and things to see. Parking can be a problem but we cracked it by overnight free parking and visiting places during the day. Everything that you could wish to see is within 10 minutes of this well located place

Room Tip: you can't go wrong, everything is fine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
1 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: $107 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing