We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in the centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We only stayed overnight but everything was faultless. Owner friendly and helpful. Room good with en suite shower you could easily swing the proverbial cat in! Breakfast superb with plenty of good coffee. We would gladly visit again if in that part of the County.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Made to feel very welcome, room very comfortable and nicely decorated (I was in the 'Plush' room in the basement).

Hosts were very nice, breakfast was good and was waiting behind Tony Robinson to check out in the morning!

Only downside is lack of mobile reception in the basement, but the WiFi served my needs for work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. Our room had a really comfortable bed and the owners have gone to town on providing all those little extras which show thought and consideration for guests. It's on a busy road so parking is not very easy but other than that our experience was fantastic. Breakfast was good and it was only at this stage that we learnt that our hosts were locums from a firm that provides stand-in cover for B&Bs - reason - the chef had not cooked Eggs Benedict for some time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was great particularly liked the home-made granola but a really good cooked breakfast too. Rooms spaces, clean and nice with little extra things that gave it a special touch. Really lovely couple running the place who make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjpebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Second time we have stayed at the west wood and again not disappointed. Service brill and the eggs benedict to die for! Will certainly be returning when staying in dorchester. Exceptionally clean and tidy I could go on but well done. I might just try something else of the fab breakfast menu but never had eggs benedict like it..

Room Tip: Ask for the plush room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbi12328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We got a room upon arrival. The owners were really nice and helpful: they made us feel at home. The room was nicely decorated with a personal touch. The is a choice of 5 different breakfasts, the full English which we tried was nice, but the not exceptional. However the choice of jams and yogurt condiments were. A fully enjoyable place to stay in Dorchester.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights in September. My wife and I received a warm welcome upon arrival. The room was neat and tidy and had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. The cooked breakfast was thoroughly enjoyable and the service was excellent. As this was the first hotel on our 9 day break we had high hopes for the rest of our holiday. The only drawback was parking which though less than a 5 minute walk away, could for some be a little annoying, especially as my wife has so much luggage and couldn't decide what to take in with her as a bare minimum.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Little Court
Little Court
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
292 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#3 of 45 in Dorchester
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: $110 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing