We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive! Good and bad points for this guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westwood House Guest House
Ranked #1 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Expensive! Good and bad points for this guest house.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We managed to find a car park quite some way from the guest house (at the top of the hill past the roundabout), costly parking unfortuantly. Hauling luggage to the guest house was a pain, we were glad it was in good weather, wouldn't want to have to do that in the rain/cold.

We arrived about 3pm, and were told we weren't expected as they hadn't been informed of any 'early' book-ins. We didn't realise check-in was 4pm+ - be warned!

Staying here will keep you fit, as we were only on the second floor but found four steep flights of stairs to climb to get to our room. Definitly not suitable for elderly or disabled customers, or those with young children really. I certainly wouldn't want to stay on the third floor!

We had a problem with 'no digital tv signal available' popping up quite a few times while we were watching the tv, especially annoying during a film; on the last day the internet access was not available too (although the kind owner did fix it after he'd finished serving breakfasts).

The bathroom windows were very dirty, and had cobwebs on them. There was also a problem keeping the windows open too, and we had to place a coaster under them to prop them up.

There's no extractor fan in the bathroom, which is surprising really. There's a definite need for a shelf (above the loo possibly) for keeping a washbag etc. on, and a hand towel rail/holder would be usefull. The loo seat was loose as well.

It would have been nice if the curtains in the bedroom had a pelmet on them, as the sunlight was very bright in the morning. The curtains themselves were lovely, and a high quality though.

The bed was very comfortable, and all rooms were tidy and decorated to a high standard.

There were good tea/coffee facilities, and a very handy mini-fridge next to a desk useful for placing a laptop etc. on as well. The great hospitality folder was useful, care taken to put menus in etc. from local places.

The bathroom shower was great, and the mirror was excellent (although a little high for me, I'm 5'3" tall and could just see from my eyes up in it).

The best part of our stay here was the breakfast. All freshly cooked from quality ingredients, and a large selection to choose from. A great way to start the day!

There's a nice pub a few doors down for relaxing/drinking. Also, several good restaurants within a minute's walk too - try the Thai Nakorn it's just fantastic! This guest house is well placed for walking around Dorchester.

Bearing in mind the lack of parking, little finishing touches that were needed really and late check-in time I think the £260 we paid for just 2 nights for a couple was rather expensive. It was only a guest house, not a 4* hotel, I'd really have expected free close parking and a heated indoor pool for that price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessicaTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29westwood, Owner at Westwood House Guest House, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Unfortunately there is little we can do about parking, having no space even for our own car. The car park we recommend is approx 150 metres at the top of the road and costs £4 per day (free overnight). There are also 1hour parking bays opposite the house for dropping off luggage, and we are more than happy to help customers with their bags. We do have a 'parking page' on our website which gives all the relevant parking information.

We do try to have a competitive room rate to similar establishments in the area. We judged our prices during the Olympic sailing event by what was available throughout the town.

Unfortunately, due to our Grade II listing, we are unable to put a fan in the bathroom of your room, as this would mean drilling through the front facade of the building. We have however added another shelf above the toilet.

Check in is between 4pm and 10.30pm but earlier check in can be arranged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    48
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
144
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed there for two nights while visiting a sick relative. I was able to check in early, the bed was very comfortable and there was double glazing to keep out High St noise. Very good wifi. Breakfast had good choices and a bit different from the usual Full English - though that was available for the hungry. I also enjoyed the quietly attentive black cat who visited during breakfast.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one at the back, but mine at the front was double glazed and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed just the one night at the Westwood House. Our room was at the rear of the house and was really peaceful and quiet. It was beautifully decorated and very comfortable although the bed was a tad too soft, but that is a personal preference. We had a small separate sitting room which was handy to put our bags etc and everything was spotlessly clean. The location is fabulous for eating out at the restaurants of Dorchester and having a wander around the shops and various museums. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and was of a very high quality. I particularly liked the homemade grenola/make your own muesli with fresh fruit and the cooked breakfast was perfect. Service was warm and friendly. I would thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have now stayed at Westwood House 3 times whilst on business, and all 3 times I have enjoyed a lovely stay. As soon as you arrive, you are are greeted with a warm welcome and shown to your room. It is right at the top of Dorchester's main road, and there are a number of restaurants within very short walking distance.

Bedrooms - all bedrooms are beautifully decorated and well equipped with lovey finishing touches; things such as cotton wool balls and cotton buds in the bathroom, along with a little jar of sweets with the tea and coffee making facilities, to name just a few. The bathroom is stocked with good quality toiletries (Au Lait), in both the shower and the wash basin. The beds themselves are up there with the most comfortable I have ever slept in - you can sink into them and pass out. The sheets are clearly very good quality too. The rooms are kept immaculately clean.

Breakfast - this is served in a beautifully decorated conservatory, and there is a really good menu from which to choose - fom full english through to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. There is also a counter in the conservatory itself where you can help yourself to fresh fruit, yoghurt and nuts & seeds. There is also a good selection of sauces and jams to accompany your breakfast.

Parking - parking is available across the street, and although it is limited, I have not so far struggled to find a space. Parking is free at night, but you can put money into the meter the night before which will mean your car can stay there until 9am. Fine for me as I have always been up and out early for meetings.

I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on the back of the house (which they kindly catered for), as I am a very light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellerina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
528 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay during the Olympics for its proximity to Weymouth. The room we had was divided into reasonable sized bedroom and sitting area both with their own TV. The breakfast was excellent, provided a good choiice and was served at very useful times. The room was clean and comfortable. However, I found that it was a little over priced. £130 a night which did not include the parking which was extra at between £3-4 per day and was a 100 m walk (approx) from the B and B which was a little awkward with heavy bags. The bathroom lacked adequate storage for wash bag and the larger towels. However, if we stay again we will bring a suitcase on wheels!

Room Tip: Make sure you say if you have any mobility issues as the climb to the top roms could be difficult if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29westwood, Owner at Westwood House Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do try to have a competitive room rate to similar establishments in the area. We judged our Olympic prices by what was available throughout the town.
Unfortunately there is little we can do about parking having no space even for a car of our own, but we do find the car park very good value. We do have a 'parking page' on our website which gives all the relevant parking information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012


On our trip to Cornwall and Devon we stopped here and for our last day we could not have asked for a better place. It is really easy to find on the main street of Dorchester and the two owners are really nice and helpful. We had a double bedroom with an extension for a third person. The room was furnished with excellent taste, comfortable and very clean. The products in the bathroom were really good and the breakfast was scrumptious. All of this for a reasonable price. To recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights - the room was nicely decorated, modern, comfortable beds, flatscreen TV, and spotlessly clean. Lots of options for breakfast including a nice vegetarian english breakfast, cereals, juice, fruit etc. The location was great on the high street, close to lots of restaurants, and a cheap car park just 2 minutes down the road. The owners were really friendly and helpful, and I would definitely be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
121 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood House Guest House

Property: Westwood House Guest House
Address: Guest House 29 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic county town of Dorchester, Westwood House is an attractive Georgian property built in 1815 by Lord Ilchester we believe for his coachmen. Converted to a town house guest house and personally run by resident owners Tom & Demelza Stevens, the accommodation offers a comfortable, informal non-smoking environment for the business or leisure visitor during their stay in Dorchester. The guest accommodation comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms all are well equipped with modern facilities, including LCD television with over 30 channels, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.A variety of restaurants, pubs and cafes are only a short stroll away from the house. Alternatively bring in a take-away and relax in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Westwood House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Dorchester
Westwood House Guest House Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing