We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My partner and I recently spent three lovely days in this lovely Hotel in Dorchester .we enjoyed excellent service, The breakfast we had each morning were delicious and the atmosphere was very relaxed the staff could not do enough for us..Rooms were very clean and comfortable The proprietors were very friendly and made us feel very welcome We will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAM0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    34
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
22
74
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a find! Wonderful historic house, tastefully decorated with antiques, with a warm welcome.
Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. We loved breakfasting in the leafy conservatory and appreciated a perfectly cooked breakfast. Even the marmalade was home made. And the lounge is a delightful place to relax with tea. When I pointed out that the tray of tea we had ordered was not on the bill, the reply was that it's complimentary. The Hotel is just a couple of minutes from the centre of Dorchester, and the lovely couple who run it are as knowledgable as they are welcoming. Can't recommend it highly enough :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time4chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for my first wedding anniversary and it was lovely and relaxing. Comfortable, clean room with a 4 poster bed. This is an excellent 4 star guest house right in the centre of Dorchester, so close to local attractions. Delicious continental buffet and cooked breakfast with plenty of choice. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Despite our 4 poster room being next to the main road, there was no noise so we had a great night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Casterbridge for the night while visiting friends in Dorchester.

It is very close to the centre, had dedicated parking a block away, a comfortable airy room, and the best cooked breakfast I've had for a long time. Nice staff too.

The only slight minus was a slightly saggy bed (but a beautiful four poster).

Bravo.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Needed a room for the night while passing through Dorchester , we were lucky to get last room in this hotel, thought it would be noises as was overlooking main road, not at all, never heard a sound, comfortable bed, slept like the dead! Lovely spread for breakfast. Lovely lovely hotel, definitely would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Casterbridge is billed as a hotel but is in fact a bed and breakfast. The location is good in central Dorchester not far from the County Museum. The service is pleasant with a personal greeting and helpful maps provided. The breakfasts are very good with a wide range of fruit and cereals and cooked-to-order main course plus excellent coffee. My single room was small and looking on to the High East Street had traffic noise without double glazing. The walk-in shower was welcome but the toilet flush was inadequate.The price was relatively high - my long weekend of three nights in a single averaged £85 a night (including the ghastly 20% VAT of course).The bed was very comfortable and the TV worked well. The Casterbridge has a well-appointed lounge and pleasant indoor and conservatory seating areas for breakfast. .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way home to Jersey as it was near Weymouth. We had one double and one twin room. The hotel is on a main road but i managed to pull over to drop off. We were met by a really helpful, pleasant owner. He told us if we could find parking in one of the bays on the road as it was saturday night we wouldnt have to pay till monday morning, which was ideal as we were leaving sunday morning, and we were lucky enough to find one. We checked in to two beautiful homely feeling bedrooms. The double had a lovely four poster bed, yes it was on the main street but we didnt find it noisy. The twin was just as homely, this b & b has a lovely feel about it. We enquired about dinner and were told that unless we had booked somewhere in town there was a nice chinese or indian on the main street. We had a lovely chinese just next door. We all slept soundly and had a lovely cooked to order breakfast the next morning as well as a good choice of cereal. The breakfast conservatory is a lovely setting and we all commented that the breakfast was better than what some of the big chains provide. We will be touring the south of england next year and i think we have found our perfect base, we will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
185 reviews
11.3 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
17.4 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Property: The Casterbridge
Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing