We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That Extra Mile For Our 30th Wedding Anniversary”
Review of The Casterbridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Casterbridge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Dorset for our 30th wedding anniversary and chose The Casterbridge for our second night. Upon arrival we were really made to feel welcome and when we went into our room, we found flowers, cards and chocolates from our children which the hotel had organised. Not only that, the hotel staff gave us a card as well. The owners were so friendly and helpful that my wife and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Casterbridge.

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room at the back of the hotel as the main road can be a little noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 162 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

My mum and I have 2 annual trips away and have stayed in many places over the years.The Casterbridge was by far the best we have stayed in. It was beautifully furnished,clean as a whistle and the breakfast was fabulous. The staff could not have been more helpful & the hosts were very knowledgible about the history of the surrounding area & gave us lots of good tips on where to visit. A thoroughly enjoyble stay, will definately be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieboo2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in July, using Dorchester as a base for exploring the sights and beaches of Dorset. The Casterbridge exudes Georgian elegance, the conservatory is a delightful place to eat your breakfast and the owners, Monica and Melvin are very welcoming and friendly. If you're looking for a touch of class with a warm and friendly ambience, then look no further for your next stay in Dorchester.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was the fourth time we've stayed at The Casterbridge, but the first time since Monica and Melvin have been the owners. We always enjoyed our stay on previous visits, but they've improved the experience because it feels more homely and intimate now, with their welcoming spirit and hospitality. It's lovely and very clean, with a traditional English feel to it. Breakfast was delicious and fresh, in a large, airy, and comfortable breakfast room. We love exploring Dorset and we look forward to staying here again, hopefully in the very near future.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a Bowls England game in Dorchester and booked into the Casterbridge for 2 nights, in order to have time to look around Dorchester. What a good decision that was. The owners, Monica and Melvin made us feel at home immediately, they could not have been better. The building itself is full of history, was once a prison in the 1700's. Our room was very comfortable and lacked for nothing. The water was hot and the towels scrummy. We really enjoyed our stay and have every intention of returning.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the main road, so there is traffic noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was are first visit to Dorset and stayed at the Casterbridge for 3 nights over the week end. After a long drive from Oxford, we were greeted with a Warm welcome and a friendly smile from the Owners Monica and Melvin. The en suite bedroom was very clean, fresh and airy with tea and coffee making facilities, free WiFi and clean linen. Breakfast was first class with a wide range of fresh fruit and berries and the best full English breakfast i have eaten in a long time, all fresh local produce from within Dorset wonderful.The breakfast staff were smartly dressed, polite, courteous and attentive at all times. The Casterbridge is within walking distance to all local services, so i parked my car at there nearby off road parking facilities for my entire visit free of charge try getting that in London ! Customer service was first class with nothing to much trouble for the friendly staff. This is a Bed and Breakfast which is professionally run and where the Guest always comes first. I think the person who wrote the previous comments has got her Bed and Breakfast mixed up because my stay was simply perfect. Looking forward to my next visit to Dorset and staying at the Casterbridge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmorris64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for just one night, so cannot comment on too much as we were just wanting a bed for the night.
The room was nice although a little small had everything you would need, although we couldn't get the WiFi to work.The bathroom was small but again had nice quality towels and little sachets of shampoo etc.
It being a Saturday night we could hear the band playing in the pub a few doors up but luckily they finished by midnight.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely with good choices and food cooked well, although the room was quite cold. Friendly staff and not too intrusive.
Overall it was a nice stay but felt at £99 it was slightly overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.5 mi away
Dorchester Premier Inn
Dorchester Premier Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
10.2 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
483 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casterbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casterbridge

Address: 49 High East Street, Dorchester DT1 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: $90 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casterbridge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wsteria clad Georgian town house guest accommodation. Period public rooms and individually decorated rooms. Close to all town attractions and shops as well as restuarants. "Master Chef" winner offers dinner an Friday and Saturday evenings. Prices include Breakfast. We are now open for Afternoon Tea in our beautiful lounge! Perfect for a family or friends catch up! Buisness buffet lunches Select a platter buffet option from 4 up to 24 persons. available Monday to Friday lunch times Non-residents breakfast Try our fabulous Full English Breakfast. Fruit juice, cereals, fruit selection, Eggs bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, toast tea or coffee. Price per person. Bookings advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Casterbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
Casterbridge Hotel Dorchester
The Casterbridge Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing