We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn and friendly Landlords”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Ranked #15 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Fox on Saturday 17th August for a B&B.
The room was superb, with a most comfortable bed and good bathroom with shower. The water pressure takes a bit to be desired, but all OK.
The breakfast was delicious with selections from a full English to scrambled eggs with bacon or smoked salmon, cereals and fruits.
The landlords were very accommodating and friendly and nothing was any trouble. Will definitely stay there again if the needs must

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel just went for lunch as we live locally

Have previously used this establishment on numerous occasions for Sunday lunch. Usually an excellent carvery. But not this time.

having taken our drinks orders we went to the servery.

The vegetables looked as though they had been left under the hot lamps for some time. They looked dry and tired. This was surprising as we were the first customers of the second sitting. Probably they had been left over from the first

we got bsck to our table and had to ask for our drinks

as for the meal our observations turnedout to be correct.

The beef and pork were lovely but the veg was very poor. Parsnips were really tough,broccoli overcooked and yellow,cauliflower cheese you could taste the flour,roast potatoes again tough and the Yorkshire pudding tough and lacking in taste

a very poor meal

the service was also poor. When I went up for some more beef had to wait to be served.

Not a Good experience this time


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nigel_underwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were a little disappointed.The valance on the bed was dirty and there was a tear in the duvet cover.The evening meal was ok although my friends steak was quite raw although it was supposed to be medium,we complained about one of the meals but no management came out to see what was the matter.The young staff were very pleasant and professional.The breakfast on the first day was quite different to the same breakfast on the 2nd day perhaps there was a different chef on.The setting is lovely and it is dog friendly,which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ollyandgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a find. Charming inn with amazingly friendly staff, friendly locals and a bed I really didn't want to get out of it was so comfortable! Breakfast was great and the staff most obliging to our requests (we wanted something a little healthier than the full English).

Great location to stop off if heading to the south coast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Two night stay in room ten. The room is a bit small and a bit shabby, not having been refurbished which I think the new owners are in the process of doing.The bed was small, 4' 6" I think but comfortable. The bathroom En suite was small, but the shower was nice, easy to use and with lots of hot water. We ate on both nights at the resteraunt. Both times the food was lovely and well presented. They were using college pupils as staff which despite there inexperience made the meal more enjoyable as without exception they were polite and friendly. Also I thought the overall food and wine prices were reasonable.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The food was great, the atmosphere was nice, the surrounding area is lovely, but the room was a bit of a let down at £80 per night.

Room Tip: Not room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarySew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

we have not been to the Fox for years although we regularly stay in the local area. We had our first date there over 35 years ago when it was a wonderful pub. It was great to walk in be so welcomed by the new owners especially as we were quite late, but that was not a problem for the landlord, who took our order and showed us where to go with our dogs. Food was great, dogs very welcome, we were even shown a good walk for another day. Highly recommend, our 89yr old father went today with another relative and were also very impressed. They will also go there more now, glad to see this lovely pub welcoming again, cant wait to go again at the end of the month.

Room Tip: Did not stay but just ate there as we have a house locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fox and were instantly attracted by its charm and location.It is set in the middle of the countryside and wherever you go you find unspoilt villages.The reception we received from all the staff was very warm and friendly,it made you feel at home straight away.The hotel is quite large with several areas to eat in and also a lovely residents lounge where you can chill out.The gardens are beautiful and definitely a place to sit if you want to be peaceful.Our room was really nice with great views from the window,the bed was a kingsize and the room and bathroom were very clean.We eat in the restaurant every night we were there and the food and service were really good.We will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan and Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
9.1 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
9.4 mi away
Dorchester Premier Inn
Dorchester Premier Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
970 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
162 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
134 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: $63 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing