We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal & very friendly staff”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #13 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came across the Fox whilst driving around looking for somewhere to eat. The staff were really nice & the Landlord was extremely friendly. He found time to talk to us & make us feel at home. He was very enthusiastic & obviously has tremendous plans for a lovely place. The food was superb,, nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 423 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed overnight with my wife and our dog and were immediately made to feel more than welcome. Our accommodation very comfortable with a king-size bed and large on-suite. The new management were extremely warm and friendly and made an enormous fuss of my dog (Harvey) much to his delight. Although the pub is large it has a really 'homely' quality with a balanced choice on where to eat both inside and out. The bar was well-stocked, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the food excellent. Our stay was overnight Saturday and this gave us the opportunity to sample their Sunday lunchtime Carvery. This was the best we had ever seen with a superb range of both meat and vegetables beautifully prepared. Overall a great place to stay and the overall experience was excellent especially regarding the warmth and friendliness of the staff and particularly the landlord and landlady. Add that to the beautiful Dorset scenery and you have an ideal place to experience a relaxing and tranquil break. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for an impromptu night at The Fox Inn and it is a charming old inn full of history. The food in the restaurant was lovely and everything that came out we wished we'd ordered when we saw it. Plenty of room and people were eating in the garden's front and back, the main restaurant, the garden room and the bar, which made for a good atmosphere. There has been a change of management recently, and from what I heard from the locals, much to their relief. The landlord and landlady were very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. There is a good selection of beer, much to my husband's delight. If you want a relaxing, get away from it all stay, in a nice part of the country, then the Fox Inn at Ansty is your place and all the main towns and attractions of Dorset are just a short drive away. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way home from Cornwall. Everything about the inn was just perfect. We were warmly welcomed by the landlord. Later the lady gave us directions for a lovely nearby walk. The walk took us through stunning Dorset scenery. In the evening we had a delicious meal in their big and beautiful garden. They serve Badger ales which and I must say I like them a lot! Room was big and clean. It was very hot inside but I guess AC is waste of money for 'normal' english weather :-) But landlord rescued us by providing us with a fan. Brakfast was good, too, i really enjoyed smoked salmon with scrambled egs.Our dog was very warmly welcomed as well by staff and their own dogs! So it was the most pleasant stay possible! Would definitely recommend it for food and accommodation. Or just for a pint of good Badger ale.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon_A76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on 11th July 2013. We found the new owners to be extremely pleasant wanting feedback to help improve services. We had a long chat to the lady in particular who made us feel welcome and valued. The rest of the staff were also friendly. The food was good and the choice of real ale very good indeed and my wife was delighted to find that they served Murphys instead of Guinness!
The room was very comfortable and newly refurbished with a king-sized bed and bathroom suite. It was clean and tidy with lovely views over the countryside.
They have not been there long and, when we arrived, there was still scaffolding from the improvements they are making. This was being removed as we left. There is a good choice of areas in which to dine - bar, dining room, garden room and front and rear gardens. The menu was a little limited but we managed to find something we both liked.
I get the feeling that this place will be even better as they settle in and do more to imrpove overall facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB62551673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at The Fox having travelled from the North East and wanted to find a traditional Dorset Inn which happened to serve Badger ales on draught (my favourite). Found this place on the Internet and it looked just the ticket.
The place doesn't disappoint. It's beautifully set amongst stunning countryside and the perfect hideaway. From the moment I checked in, I was greeted by the barman who is extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much hassle and I enjoyed the first (of many) of the ales which are perfectly kept and served.
The room was pleasant and comfortable and had everything needed for a short stay (tv/kettle etc).
The food was heavenly and well recommended is the homemade pie, made to order and I struggled to not order it again the following night! Cannot praise the chef enough.
Finally, a mention to the new recent owners who are a lovely friendly couple, doing all they could to make sure their patrons were well cared for. Friendly, accommodating and clearly working hard towards the success if the Fox.
A big thanks to you all....from the lad with the glass!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went again with family who live in the village and had a really super meal. It was a bit noisy but a pleasure to see the pub being used again like it should be, a real village local. Well done to all who made it so, we will be back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jan_Barrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
9.1 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
8.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
134 reviews
0 mi away
The Piddle Inn
The Piddle Inn
#2 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
84 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Oak at Dewlish
The Oak at Dewlish
#1 of 1 in Dewlish
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range: $67 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing