We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #10 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaminster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Won't go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Decided with my husband and two friends to have Saturday lunch at the Inn. Having been previously on many occasions lunch evening meals and the Sunday carvery. After calling the day before to make a reservation I was told there were no tables available until 1.30, which was fine as it was Easter Saturday we assumend they were very busy, imagine our suprise when arriving at the car park there were only seven cars parked. On entering the Inn we had to wait to be seen and then eventually told yes we were booked. Entering the dining room there were only twelve people seated ( all wearing coats ) as yes it was very cold inside. I appreciate it is an exceptionally cold winter, but surely a nice welcoming warm dining room would be very welcoming. After ordering our meal which which we didn't have to wait too long for my friend had to return her meal and the replacement meal was also not eaten. We had coffee after and sadly my coffee had a large hair in it. The condiments on the table were not very clean the vinegar bottle had dirt and fluff on the side and the salt cellar did not work as the salt inside was solid. How sad this has happened to this once very popular Inn. I must say the waitress was very helpful, but had to check everything we asked her. We will not be visiting again, which is a shame. Please put some heating on! it is not good having to eat a meal with your coat on.
ps please also get rid of the smell outside. We live in the country and are used to the smells of the fields of which the farmers spread there effluent, but this smell is of sewage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    89
    39
    25
    22
See reviews for
59
189
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited The Fox Inn, using a tastecard, for my birthday.
The staff were friendly, the food was delicious, I like the idea that the menu changes frequently, although we had already chosen what to have on using the menu on the website and nothing we had selected was on the menu of the day. We were all very happy with our selections. The portions were quite large, we would have been happy with them being half the size and we still would have been full. There wasn't much atmosphere, but it was a Monday night. The restaurant was a little cold. With the tastecard the food was good value, I probably wouldn't have paid the full price for what we had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumdeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not a place to stay in winter, heating poor and bedrooms not cosy enough. Not good for business if need early breakfast as don't serve before 8.00am. We found ourselves stumbling through dark halls trying to get out at 7.30am. They obviously don't get up early at the fox. Food in bar at night was good but restaurant cold and not inviting. It is probably lovely in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I'm a village resident so I am delighted to have the pub back, after too many years of disinterested to hostile "service". What a change. The welcome is warm, the decor fresh while retaining the integral structure and atmosphere of the building . A couple of village events have been held there which is a great way of welcoming everyone in. The food is excellent although the menu is short everything I tasted or saw was great. I've also had a really tasty very local cider. It's fine to pop in for a drink or a meal , although I'm sure booking will become vital in the holiday season. I'm looking forward to the Spring Menu when I go again next week - I've just looked it up on the website and it looks lovely. The conservatory restaurant is a bit cold in these freezing temperatures but fires and rugs are provided along with table games and a piano if you feel in the mood to strike up a tune. I did notice that there doesn't seem to be a wheelchair accessible toilet yet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the second time we have visited the Fox for a carvery having stayed at the Victorian Barn (dairy house farm) in Woolland and both times were not disappointed! The chef serving the meats was very friendly and welcoming, all of the waiting and bar staff were friendly and the food was delicious!
We were even offered a lift home by the sous chef (we of course paid) because there were no taxi firms able to collect us and we had just walked 5 miles in the snow to get there - totally worth the walk I might add!
Definitely will visit again and would recommend to familes and groups of all ages.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvtotravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked the inn as a result of a Red Letter Day present and subsquently booked an additional night's stay directly with the inn. The Red Letter Day 'deal' was for a 'superior room'.

On arrival we were shown to our room which was VERY cold. I quickly discovered that the radiator in the room itself and the towel rail in the ensuite bathroom were both tuned off. I would have thought that as we were prebooked and I am sure had been allocated a room that someone would have thought to turn on the heating prior to out arrival, apparently not. Having turned the valves on some warmth began to be felt in the radiators. We unpacked keeping our coats on and having finished could just begin to feel some warmth in the room in the area of the radiators. Judging by the incomplete heated areas of the radiators they needed bleeding. We decided to go for a walk and on our return, some two hours after our arrival, the room felt warm.
The decoration in the room was good on the whole with some evidence of water leaks in places. The side of the very substantial bath, the wall above the bathroom towel rail and the 'skirt' of the armchair in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bed linen of good quality and supply of towels / bath mats adequate. The hair dryer could only be plugged in at floor level which due to it's 'nomal' length lead give my wife a problem using it in front of the adjacent wall mounted mirror. Likewise the kettle had to be moved from the top of the chest of drawers to the floor to be plugged in. A pity about the cobwebs on the ceiling above the bed!
We ate in the restaurant the first evening and found the bar and restaurant staff to be friendly and helpful. The beers, wines and spirits were good. The food was of the 'pub food' variety and was served in substantial portion sizes. The menu was restricted by comparison with the sample menu in the room, perhaps due to the time of year.
Breakfast was taken in a specific 'breakfast room' at the back of the inn overlooking the garden. We had read some of the comments in the Visitors Book the previous evening and were therefore prepared for the chill in the room, there being no discernable heating. The breakfast was good and substantial but you could not afford to dawdle over it as it soon became cold.
On returning to our room that evening we found that the heating had been turned down low and there was a distinct chill in the room. Turning the heating up soon warmed the room as it was nowhere near as cold as the previous day.
Again we ate in the restaurant but had to move from our allocated table due to an overwhelming smell of sewerage! Apparently this can happen when it rains, but it had not been raining! Fortunately the smell did not pervade the whole restaurant.
The following morning we awoke to find that the heating was off despite the settings being the same as the previous evening.
When we booked out after breakfast we discovered that we had been occupying a 'standard' as 'opposed' to a 'superior' room as advertised by the Red Letter Day deal. Talking to other people staying at the inn, who had a large dog, the inn is very dog friendly and allows dog owners to have their dogs in their room overnight. I am sure that in many cases that is OK but I am also sure that in some cases people allow dogs to sleep on the bed. I leave it to you to make your mind up regarding the acceptability of this practice.
Would we return to this inn or recommend it to friends? No.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have awarm room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for 1 night on a bed and breakfast basis.The welcome we received was very friendly.Our evening meal was fantastic,well priced and in very comfortable surroundings.The room we had was a great size,a lovely comfy bed with en-suite facilities,a very good nights sleep.To round off our stay the breakfast was ample and very tasty.The staff throughout our stay were very helpful and charming.We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
9.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
9.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#9 of 45 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 45 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing