We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another super Sunday lunch”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #10 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Another super Sunday lunch”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have visited here for Sunday lunch on at least 4 occasions and on each the quality and quantity of the food at the carvery have been consistently excellent. The home made puddings that we had (cheesecake, bread and butter pudding and lemon meringue pie) were equally super.

Competent cookery and great value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    98
    44
    26
    24
See reviews for
63
198
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have recently spent 4 nights at The Fox Inn and enjoyed it very much. We had a superior room on the 2nd floor; it was spacious, clean and had a huge comfortable bed. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower had good pressure. The food was excellent; both breakfast and dinner options. If braised belly pork is on the menu, do try it, it's delicious. The cheeseboard is huge and will comfortably feed 2 people. The welcome was fine and 2 members of staff in particular - Luke and Ellie - deserve a mention for their customer service - friendly and approachable and very hard-working, covering both the bar and the dining room when needed.

Room Tip: Top floor has 4 superior rooms which are more expensive but away from potential bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We live locally so have not stayed here, but this pub is always our first choice for Sunday carvery. Great choice of tasty dishes and good sized portions of meat. Always good quality with a friendly service

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you are looking for the best Sunday carvery in North Dorset then you need to visit The Fox Inn at Ansty. Two dining rooms are open on the Sunday accommodating the always booked sittings that the pub operates. If you haven't booked then you might be lucky and it would be worth a try but I would always recommend a quick call to make a booking to ensure your place.

The food is great value for money and you will come away satisfied but more probably in need of a lay down for eating too much.

At other times of the week it is just the front restaurant that is normally open along with a menu in the the bar being available. The difference in the number of diners between during the week and a Sunday is amazing and testament to the great carvery available.

I haven't stayed at The Fox as we live too close (just a few villages away) but having read some of the reviews I do think some of the points are a little unfair.

No Mobile Signal - North Dorset is a rural area and the poor cousin to many towns and cities when it comes to communications, no we don't get a very good (if at all) mobile signal and the same can be said for broadband. This isn't the fault of the hotel or pub and if you are looking for a quiet few nights away in a country pub then why do you need your normal 24/7 hotline? Isn't the point of getting away from it all just that? Give your family the pubs phone number for emergencies.

Bit out of the way - This is a country pub in rural North Dorset, that means country lanes that twist and turn and are narrow in places. Isn't that part of the experience of visiting the English countryside rather than stopping at a premier inn off the motorway? Enjoy the journey and treat it as part of your rural weekend with great country walks and real ales awaiting you at the bar on your return.

Decor and service - Well as I say I haven't stayed there so can't comment on the accommodation side but the restaurant service is just fine, no it's not Michelin Star nor is it a greasy spoon cafe, however it is polite and helpful. The front restaurant is oak panelled and reflects the date and style of the original building as does the bar. The back dining room is light and airy in garden room style as it leads out onto the patio area.

I hope the owners take note of the customer service points and pictures posted about the decor and slamming door problems. They look easy to resolve at a reasonable cost ensuring future guests don't have the same experience. It's never nice to get negative feedback when you put your heart and soul into a business but using it to make things even better can turn it into a positive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyberWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What a disappointing weekend away! I had seen quite a lot of good reviews for this place so I decided to book for 2 nights. When we arrived we had far from a warm welcome and nothing was explained to us about when breakfast was or when we needed to check out. We only seemed to deal with kids at the reception the owners of the inn never greeted us. The rooms were ok but nothing spectacular, I wouldn't say £80 a night standard. The main reason we booked this inn for a weekend away was because it was in the middle of nowhere and we were hoping for a nice quiet get away but as a previous reviewer mentioned this place was far from quiet! Especially on the Sunday night when we didn't realise the inn had a live band playing in the evening which started at 7pm and finally finished at 1am in the morning! We could hear the music really loudly in our room. When I went down to reception at 12.30am to ask when the music was going to finish I was greeted most rudely and told they would stop in ten minutes, half and hour later when we were considering leaving the hotel in the early hours at 1am in the morning they finally ended the music. We left early on the morning feeling really tired and fed up and didn't stay for the breakfast as we didn't enjoy it the morning before. I think it would have been fair to have warned us a live band was playing on the Sunday as we would not have stayed. Also it is not fair to advertise that they have wifi as it did not work and we got no mobile phone signal. Overall the customer service was awful and the hotel could do with updating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went to Dorset to stay at The Fox, we checked in and everything seem ok. Nothing Fancy but it was clean. Unfortunately we were woken up in the early morning 6.45am by the door slamming outside our room. We soon found out that the door outside was extremely loud and would slam as people went through. The door continued to slam as every guest got up and left. I understand that old buildings have noise, but every floor board in the room creaks as well as the room above.

I went down to breakfast and as we were staying for another night we requested a different room away from the noise. I was informed by the waitress that they were full and there was nothing they could do. Combined with the noise and the shower that had no pressure and just trickled. We decided to leave and find alternative accommodation at The Hambro Arms just round the corner.

We went downstairs to check out and I was told by the manager we would have to pay for the second night as we did not give 48 hours notice. I had to argue with the manager as clearly we were leaving as we had come to relax and have a lie in and we could not do so in the room with the slamming door. Eventually after arguing for 5 mintues and telling me I was wrong she gave up and said they would not charge, but she was not happy and gave me a huge amount of attitude and sarcastically said "Good Luck at The Hambro".

I used to work in the hotel industry and found the customer service completely unacceptable. I have never had to leave a hotel but this was ridulous

The Hambro was amazing worth the extra £20 people were great, rooms far nicer!

Room Tip: Do not choose room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As per the title, this establishment is a few miles from the main road on narrow roads, so not a nice journey. No mobile reception on the three network although wi-fi is available.
The pub and restaurant are nice although a bit dated and pricey for the limited menu available. The room we had was clean and the bed was king size, the room had roof angled ceilings so a few bumped heads during our stay, the bathroom was rather small but acceptable. Alex Polizzi could work wonders in bringing the place into the 21st century as the food and service appear to be stuck in the seventies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
9.5 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
9.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
15.5 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#3 of 45 in Dorchester
77 reviews
9.4 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#9 of 45 in Dorchester
122 reviews
9.5 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: Ansty, Dorchester DT2 7PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Dorchester
The Fox Inn Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing