We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”
Review of Beggar's Knap

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beggar's Knap
Ranked #21 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I'm not sure how this property got a 4 star rating from AA because it certainly doesn't come close to meeting the standards that one would expect. Our room had dirty and stained carpeting, dirty bed linen, no hair dryer, a kettle that was completely corroded and unusable, and there was no remote for the antiquated tv. At breakfast there was no juice and only instant coffee. Not a good experience and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. It's a shame really as the property itself has much potential with it's antique furnishings and decor. It just seems that no pride or care is taken in the operation of the business. Oh and it's also located across the street from a pub that can (and did) get noisy on the weekend. If you have another option, I'd suggest you take it and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
44
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Beggar.s Knap
The greatest place on earth. Never have stayed at such a an old victorian home that was so lovely. Everything was just absolutely magnificent, Mark made us feel very comfortable and most welcome. It was an enjoyable and unforgetable two day stay, only wish it was much longer. we highly recommend begger's knap as the place to stay. thank-you thank-you take care mark
from your canadian friends
palma and sir winston
see you again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesleyllewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We brought our Canadian cousins to stay in The Beggars Knap. One is a vegan and one is a vegetarian. We informed Mark we would be arriving late in the evening. He was on the doorstep to greet us on arrival. He checked to see if we had everything we needed and reviewed dietary requirements for the morning. Mark went out of his way to make our stay a good one. The rooms were large and clean and comfy. The breakfasts were more than adequate and we managed to park our freelander happily in the carpark behind the BnB. Mark was happy to impart his local knowledge to help us with eateries and tourist info and the history of Beggars Knap itself. We had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

No-one to greet me on arrival.Seemed as deserted as the grave.Terrible coffee.Inattention to detail, e.g.clock not working, minimum of cheap toiletries.Crackling TV.Room not serviced at all! Indifferent breakfastAnd this is supposed to be a **** BnB.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The room we stayed in at the front of the house was amazing - very big and had a 4 poster bed. Well heated. Large bathroom but did not have a stand up shower or curtain, only a shower that extends from the tap area. Water tended to go on the floor a bit, and when it was mopped up, noticed the floor was a bit dusty. The bed was very comfortable and roomy, but we were slightly put off when we noticed some small flies that seemed to collect each night around the ceiling lamp. The room was cosy and quiet, and the bed comfy: we got good sleep. The host was extremely friendly and was obviously keen to please, but sadly the breakfast was a bit lacklustre, with only English breakfast on offer and teabags and instant coffee on the table for you to prepare. We were told there was parking, but realistically our car (3 door) didn't fit into the space and we ended up parking in a road about 10 mins walk from the B&B. The location of the B&B was great: right in the centre of Dorchester. There was a nice market on Wednesdays right behind the B&B. Overall, we had a good time but think there is lots of room for improvement - with a bit more attention to detail and a better breakfast, this B&B could be amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wat4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2010

What the previous reviews fail to mention is that Beggars Knap offers what might be the most disappointing B&B breakfast in England. Asked if there was any fresh coffee, the owner Mark lied and said there wasn’t any in case there were guests who took offense to the smell. He added that he thought there wasn’t enough room on the breakfast table to provide guests with Caféteries. Both coffee and tea were of the cheapest possible variety and were completely unappetizing when mixed with the lukewarm water that came out of the thermos jugs laid out on the table. As for the English breakfast, well it was pretty limited choice wise, and out of the bits I had the eggs and mushrooms were extremely rubbery and the tomato was watery. Mark also carefully metered out the orange juice by the thimbleful. There were also some cheap and nasty looking yoghurts in the corner of the room and a Tupperware box of cornflakes. I guess if all you fancy is toast and cereal, and you’re not a tea or coffee drinker you’ll probably be fine. Bon Appetit!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cmm1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

What a stroke of luck to find this place and a pleasure to stay here. Our double room was huge and full of period features with a very nice en suite bathroom. Mark, our landlord was friendly, helpful and gave us sound advice about where to eat etc. Breakfast was delicious and served quickly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.0 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beggar's Knap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beggar's Knap

Property: Beggar's Knap
Address: 2 Weymouth Avenue, Dorchester DT1 1QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beggar's Knap 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beggar's Knap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beggar's Knap Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing