We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful B&B in stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marren
Ranked #23 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful B&B in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We just returned refreshed and replenished from a beautiful weekend at Marren.
Arriving on a dark and rainy night at the beautiful, tastefully decorated house Peter and Wendy have created, felt a bit like stepping into paradise. We immediately felt at home in this house where beautiful antiques are combined with the clear, clean and somehow Scandinavian decor we found in our bedroom. Wherever we looked, we could sense how much loving attention to detail has gone into creating this unique B&B. Our room was extremely comfortable with a stunning sea view and our en-suite bathroom, lovingly decorated with pretty soap dishes, filled with pebble stones to name just one little detail, featured a bath tub large enough to accommodate my rather tall husband for a comforting soak after a long walk along the coastal path. In the mornings we woke to the smell of freshly baked bread wafting through the house and the breakfast was wholesome and delicious. Peter and Wendy were wonderful hosts and supplied us with a number of great ideas where to find the best pubs and which walks to take. The location is quiet and peaceful with beautiful walks literally starting on the doorstep. We will certainly return and highly recommend this very special B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katanja1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

My spouse and I stayed here two nights. The house is impeccably decorated with a style that beats most "flowery" B&B's. Real antiques mixed eclectically with interesting books, paintings and fine linens. Decorated like a magazine! We loved the views from our private garden terrace, and the Dorset Coastal Path is just moments from the house. The breakfast was also wonderful, fresh bread fruit, and fantastic eggs. We would highly recommend this place to friends who want a quiet getaway. Yes, the road is not paved, but perhaps just do it for the first time in daylight and you'll be fine. We didn't have any troubles with it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeHoeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

we stayed in marren for 2 nights. It was a quiet, rural location which is exactly what we wanted. The place is gorgeous, muted colours, fresh wild flowers on the dressing table, basically a haven. It's only a short walk to the beach or coastal path. The breakfast is great, all very good quality. I would love to go back and would definitely recommend this place, it's a gem

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadreamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

Had a lovely stay at the Marren. Hosts were very friendly and the rooms have really lovely views.

Be warned though the Marren is really quite "off the beaten track" (but I suppose that whole point of the experience) and the drive down from the national heritage car park for Ringstead Bay is not for the faint hearted (especially at night).

Lovely walk to the beach - Around Ringstead Bay (which takes about 30-45 mins) . Spectacular views of the coast on the way down on a good day.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxtubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

This quirky Bed and Breakfast house is situated on the Dorset coastal path, with spectacular views of Portland and Weymouth.

Access to the house is not easy - though several farm gates and down a steep track, but the effort is well worth it.

For walkers the location is perfect being on the Dorset coastal path complete wth a short walk down to a small beach. The house and location is not suitable for the disabled or the infirm.

The house is full of quality Edwardian antiques and the owners Peter and Wendy are very charming and friendly. The room we stayed in had its own entrance through the garden - the bed was top quality with excellent quality sheets and pillows and a well appointed en-suite bathroom - a quirky TV in the room was the old push button verity with no remote (Perhaps it was meant to be one of the antiques?)

Breakfast was served in the Dinning room with quilted place settings and real linen serviettes! Fresh bread, home made marmalades and fresh pink grapefruit (not the usual tinned stuff) - sadly the cooked breakfast didn’t live to the rest of the excellence being a bit on the small side and the bacon over cooked.

All in all and a good stay in comfortable and charming surroundings.


.

  • Liked — Quality bed and sheets
  • Disliked — The bacon
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isbell100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
1.8 mi away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.8 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#4 of 50 in Dorchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 14 in West Lulworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marren

Property: Marren
Address: Holworth, Dorchester DT2 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea between Lulworth Cove and Weymouth is a house called Marren. Surrounded by National Trust land, Marren is set in a large garden on a steep slope with spectacular views of Portland and Weymouth Bay. The only sounds are of waves breaking and the cries of buzzards. We are seven minutes from a secluded beach to the east of Ringstead and five minutes from the Dorset Coastal Path which leads to Bats Head, Durdle Door and Lulworth Cove. It is the perfect place for walking, seeing wildlife and breathtaking views of sea and cliffs. We have two en-suite double bedrooms. The larger one has its own entrance from the garden and a super kingsize bed; the smaller one has a spectacular view of Portland and Weymouth Bay through french windows from the bed. We can recommend a selection of excellent restaurants and pubs for eating out, plus help with local maps and directions for walks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marren Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing