We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and staff”
Review of Junction Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Junction Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently (room 6) and the staff were very pleasant and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. Unfortunately the locals or other guests (I'm not sure which) were extremely noisy in the middle of the night and kept me awake. As it was the day before New Years Eve I just put it down to a bit too much Christmas cheer! As I was in a ground floor outside room I guess there wasn't much the hotel owners could've done about the racket anyway. The second issue I had was that the heating was extremely noisy and banged all night keeping me awake - I didn't get the opportunity to mention this to anyone as at the time we left early morning reception was unmanned and so we just had to post the keys through the pub letterbox.

Having said that it was a lovely place, the adjacent pub served really nice food though you need to ensure that you finish your meal, including desserts, before 9pm as they stop serving. I think this is the case with most places though.

We got this for a bargain rate and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 115 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

I cannot thank Albert and his staff enough as they were able to find a room for us at such short notice, after The George had let us down so badly.We had booked and paid online and had a confirmation of our booking from the George , but when we arrived there after a long journey the place was closed ! Luckly i have relatives in Dorchester, one of them who knew Albert the landlord of the Junction and after a telephone call he offered us a room at no extra charge.The staff couldn´t have been more helpful and made us most welcome.The pub was homely and the room clean and we had a quiet nights sleep.The full English breakfast set us up for the rest of the day.I would recommend the Junction to any who wan´t a value for money B & B in Dorchester.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBell198462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Great little B and B attached to Pub. Clean, comfortable and staff very attentive. Ideal for use as a base to explore Dorset, or if like me you needed somewhere to stay whilst away on business for one night. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The bed was comfortable, the shower was ok, the room needed renovating. The food in the pub was disappointing. Personally, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Two reasons why we did not stay here and asked for our money back -
1. On site car parking is a must for us when we book a hotel. Although this featured in the photos and description of the hotel, none was available to us when we arrived and we were told we would have to park in a public car park.
2. When we went to our room, it absolutley reeked of cigarette smoke. Not just a faint smell, it was overpowering. We asked one of the staff to come and have a look at the room and she said she could smell the smoke before she even opened the door. There was only one small window in the room, so we couldn't have got rid of the smell that way.

There were no other rooms available so we asked for our money to be refunded. There was no problem about this at all, so we had to find another hotel that night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The food was very nice and was fairly reasonably priced. (half price steak night on a monday)
The staff were very helpfull and the manager and his son was a great laugh and made us feel very welcome

same time next year! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becky186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

A friendly clean hotel with lots of character, the staff could not have been any friendlier- we would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.2 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
202 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
5.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Junction Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junction Hotel

Address: 42 Great Western Road, Dorchester DT1 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Dorchester
Price Range: $117 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Junction Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Junction Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Junction Hotel Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing