We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like home from home - Keeper's Cottage B+B, West Stafford, Dorchester.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keepers Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keepers Cottage
Ranked #40 of 50 Dorchester B&B and Inns
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like home from home - Keeper's Cottage B+B, West Stafford, Dorchester.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

My wife and I have been coming to Keeper's cottage for a good many years and we have never, I repeat never. had such a wonderful welcome as when we turn the corner of their drive to be greeted by Ray and Angie (and the dog!).
The peace and tranqility of this beautiful house and garden cannot, for us, be surpassed. The home baked goodies and refreshing drinks which come swift on the heels of the initial welcome are to be experienced to be believed. Careful attention is always paid to special requiremens and Ray and Angie go out of their way to make everyone feel at home and cherished.
My elderly mother and aunt have recently been joining us at Keeper's and cannot wait to return each time, regarding Ray and Angie as surrogate neice and nephew who spoil and show such warmth to them. Their experiences and comfort received at Keeper's Cottage serve as topics of conversation for these two ladies in their eighties, long after our visits.
The character of each room has been carefully thought out and, unlike some B+B's we have experienced, none of the rooms is marred in proportion or outlook by the usually inevitable ensuite, tucked away in the corner. The shower is excellent and is always clean and well stocked should anyone need extra towels, shampoo etc. The whole character of the upstairs is perfect for a rural dwelling, warm rush matting, soft restful colours on the walls, suplemented by delightful artwork and a wide range of reading matter from style magazines to Hardy's poetry.
The Hardy element is not to be ignored as Keeper's is featured in the poignant short story "The WaitingSupper" as is the magnificent West Stafford Hall, visible from the first floor and via vistas in the garden. Avisit when the roses are in full bloom in June is definitely to be recommended!!
Breakfast is as large or as small as you wish, with homemade compote and preserves,porrige,cereals and of course the "full English" if you so desire.
As with all B+Bs we have visited, guests are not expected to stay in their rooms all day. This is made politely clear in the welcome pack in the rooms . On return from a day's exploring the beautiful Dorset countryside and beaches one's room is clean and welcoming - sometimes with a little treat waiting on the bedside table !
All in all I cannot think of a place I would rather choose to unwind and relax, either on holiday or passing through, than with Ray and Angie Thomas at Keeper's Cottage ! We greatly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Ray and Angie are wonderful hosts. We have been a few times now and each visit has been fab,in fact we are planning another soon. The house and gardens are lovely and the aga cooked breakfast is second to none!
This peaceful place is highly recommended, and so many places to see and visit around you will have a tough time fitting it all in

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pen2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

The first thing I noticed as soon as I walked into Keepers Cottage was the warmth of the welcome from Angie and Ray. This immediately made me feel at ease and it was as if the cottage was my own country retreat such was their manner and enthusiasm. The cottage itself is a stunning, quaint house filled with references to Thomas Hardy (apt given the location of the house) and the history of the house - which adds to a feeling that the cottage has down the years been a labour of love which Angie and Ray now themselves embrace and welcome guests with open arms.

The area surrounding the cottage is tranquil and peaceful and you could easily spend a day rambling around enjoying the untouched countryside. The local pub just 10 minutes walk down the road is a joy-the current owners have retained the rustic features in keeping with the area whilst at the same time offering fabulous freshly cooked food.

All in all my stay was filled with many happy memories and I can see why so many guests return on such a regular basis. A cracking trip!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank empayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

We booked 2 nights in Keepers Cottage via the tourist information office in Dorchester after giving up on our camping expedition due to the rain. The house is located about 3 miles outside Dorchester in peaceful countryside and we received a very warm welcome from Ray and Angie the owners.

Our bedroom was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated, as was the rest of the house.
There was only one other person staying at the time so sharing a showerroom and one loo was fine - if the house was full (5 guests) this might be an issue I guess.
The breakfast was fantastic and Ray and Angie could not be more helpful.

We noticed on the literature in the bedroom that the house is 'closed' between 11am and 4pm (I think those were the times) which we realised meant we should vacate our room during those hours. This is a first for me, but wasn't a problem at all since when you're on holiday you're usually out all day exploring anyway.

A footpath leads you from the house into Dorchester (taking 25mins) where you can have a couple of pints in the excellent Blue Raddle pub and a meal in town and catch a taxi back.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Keepers Cottage and would definately stay there again - reading the hundreds of positive comments in their guestbook we're clearly not alone.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnytvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingstone zambia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

Keepers Cottage is located in a beautiful rural setting and is clean and well kept. The bathroom facilities are inadequate - one small shower room and a seperate wc to cater for 3 double bedrooms. Breakfast is served only between 8 and 9 o'clock - rather restrictive. The worst aspect of our stay was that we were charged £10 per night over and above the agreed rate of £70 per room per night for "use of the room during the day." This was outrageous though we paid rather than quarrel.
The breakfast was very good.

  • Liked — Garden
  • Disliked — Bathroom Facilities
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lodgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

The Keepers cottage is in a tranquil location, but in the middle of no where if you do not have a car. The rooms are acceptable and the breakfast is fantastic but there is a BUT. Myself and Family stayed there for three nights over the May Bank Holiday due to a family member getting married. So on a couple of days we spent an afternoon at Keepers cottage, due to lack of transport. We were not advised that the B&B closes between 11am-18.00pm to thier Guest. Although it is mentioned in the welcome pack. Upon our departure we expected to pay £210.00 which is £35.00 per person per night. We then were told we had to pay an extra £30.00 as we were in the house when it was supossed to be closed. This is not advertised anywhere. We were all astounded but paid. Upon coming back home i think this is totally outrageous considering we all had to share one toilet and one shower room, i also realised on the first night we did not arrive till 23hrs, so we were ripped off and overcharged. I will def not return to the keepers cottage and will next time stay in a Hotel. Where you can come and go as you please, where you have your own en suite facillities for prehaps a cheaper rate or aprroximatley the same. I an very very dissapointed in Keepers Cottage and will never recomend to friends or family.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overcharging
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggerpopelephantmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Yeoman
Royal Yeoman
#1 of 1 in Grimstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#10 of 50 in Dorchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keepers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keepers Cottage

Property: Keepers Cottage
Address: West Stafford, Dorchester DT2 8AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Keepers Cottage Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing