We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bramlies Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 45 Dorchester B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed December 24, 2008

I stayed at Bramlies for one night, and was offered the 'Garden Suite', located in a small building within the back garden of the main house, and comprising a bedroom and a small living room.

The bedroom was cosy, comfortable, and very clean. There was an ensuite toilet and sink, but the shower was situated in the corner of the bedroom (see photo), which was perhaps a little unusual! Not really a problem though, although there was no light in the shower cubicle itself, which meant relying on the light from the bedroom which wasn't really sufficient.

The atmosphere at breakfast was informal and relaxed, and the owner Sue was friendly and helpful.

Bramlies is situated approx. 10-15 mins walk from the town centre; there are several B&Bs closer to the centre but these often don't have space to park (which Bramlies does).

Overall - a comfortable, friendly place to stay when visiting Dorchester.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable room and friendly owner
  • Disliked — Not enough light in the shower
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
32
13
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The Bramlies has recently been awarded 3 Stars by the AA. This award reflects the care and attention paid by Sue in running this B&B. Ideally located on the outskirts of Dorchester, it has easy access to the town centre (10 min walk) and the main ring road.
There is ample off road parking and provision for bikers !

There are 3 pubs within a ten minute walk although the breakfast you receive will keep you going to well into the afternoon.

Each of the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. They are stocked with fluffy white towels and tea/coffee. A hair dryer is also provided along with a information pack on attractions and places to visit in the local area.

Attention to detail is obviously high on their list of priorities and makes the difference between a good place to stay and an excellent place to stay. Sue provides an excellent B&B, and even warmed the plates ready for us when we came back with a Chinese take-away, such is the level of her unbounded enthusiasm.

I would recommend this B&B to all and will definately stay there in the future, although from the sounds of repeat guests staying they have trouble getting booked in such is the popularity of this establishment!

  • Liked — Level of service provided
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DJPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We booked in for a night on our tandem tour of Dorset and found this B & B so good that we extended it to 2 nights. Sue made us very welcome, the standard of comfort and cleanliness in the rooms was excellent and the breakfasts were great. We couldn't believe it only rated 3 tourist board diamonds as it was lots better than one we had stayed in earlier in the week that rated 4.
We thoroughly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the Dorchester area.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly, garden suite
  • Disliked — Front garden appearance
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank daisyLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I've just spent 3 nights in the Lily pad at Bramlies. For anyone attending the Hip ultrasound course at Dorset Hospital I would highly recommend this accommodation. It was very clean, tastefully decorated with nice shower facilities and comfy double bed. TV reception was a little poor but watchable. Garden was lovely ,breakfast was fabulous and the family very friendly. The hospital is only a few minutes walk and the town centre just a bit further. Check out the first curry house on the left hand side as you enter town - very nice.
Book as early as possible though....I know that these rooms are popular because of close location to hospital. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lisaw36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dorchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#8 of 45 in Dorchester
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westwood House Guest House
Westwood House Guest House
#1 of 45 in Dorchester
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bramlies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bramlies Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bramlies Bed and Breakfast
Address: 107 Bridport Road, Dorchester DT1 2NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Dorchester
Hotel Class:3 star — Bramlies Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome is assured at Bramlies where we do our utmost to ensure that you enjoy your stay. We are situated within 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Dorchester and right on the edge of Poundbury. Set in our pretty garden we have ground floor detached rooms (one of which sleeps up to 4) offering more privacy, flexibility and immediate access to outside space, with garden furniture supplied for when the weather allows. Breakfast is a relaxed occasion with a choice of locally produced, freshly cooked food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bramlies Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bramlies Bed And Breakfast Dorchester, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing