We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bournemouth
Post
Inbox
Search

“Amazing...”

Indian Ocean Restaurant and Takeaway
Ranked #94 of 933 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant has really delicious food. They can make the spice levels according to your taste and make it taste really good. The staff is very friendly and helpful in selecting what to eat. Full score to the restaurant...

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Shobhit920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food again here in Indian Ocean restaurant.chi Tawa was outstanding.
Lamb Bhuna was nice as well.lovely staff.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank johnmH294LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having taken into account previous reviews, we arranged to dine at this restaurant whilst visiting Bournemouth and were looking forward to an enjoyable evening.

Although booked in advance, on our arrival we were told to wait until a table could be cleared. Being shown to our seats, the cutlery was thrown down in front of us.

After a long wait, our order was taken. Our drinks were delivered to the table relatively quickly; however, we had to wait for what seemed like an age for the papadoms and pickles. Having consumed these in good time, our starters never arrived, but overhearing another couple, they were complaining that their (same) starter (onion bhajis) arrived with their main course, therefore, it was no surprise that ours did too. This was, of course, following a 30 minute wait and us having to ask where our main course was. In the meantime, another two tables were seated, orders taken and their food delivered before ours!

A further disappointment was the fact that the food was barely warm. Although our waiter offered for the curries to be re-heated, this meant the rice and naan bread (not forgetting the onion bhajis!) were left to go cold.

Notwithstanding the bad service and mediocre food, the decor of the restaurant is very tired and uninspiring... giving the impression of it being dirty. Suffice to say we shall be giving this restaurant a miss on our future visits to the town!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

We were a party of four and enjoyed everything we (over) ordered. The service was spot on, neither in your face or tardy. Would definitely go back. Try it and enjoy.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bernard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Found this little gem whilst on a weekend break. Booking is recommended as people were waiting for tables at 8pm. I booked on their website and it even shows the time slots they have available.
Food was excellent and very tasty. Good prompt service and attentive but not overly intrusive.
I’d recommend this restaurant highly.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank RichardC675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean Restaurant and Takeaway also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Indian Ocean Restaurant and Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing