We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost ideal”

The Peppermill Restaurant
Ranked #385 of 805 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $4 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had heard through the grapvine it does a mean fry up.

I agree and outstanding value with friendly staff (Helen I think).

£4.95 for two bits of bacon, two eggs, a hasbrown, baked beans, to bits of toast and a sausage. You also get a pot of tea with enough for two cups.

I'll definately be visiting again.

Well done, with old fashioned being nice to people!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TruthWarrior69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 24 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Enjoy this little jewel of a restaurant with great value for your money and lovely home cooking! Enjoyed roast beef,mashed potatoes, veggies and my favourite...yorkshire pudding! Even had dessert and the staff was more than friendly! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayschicken, Public Relations Manager at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for a great review, glad you enjoyed it. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wife decided to treat me to a cooked breakfast after a morning in the high street (I know pushed the boat out !). Came across The Peppermill, it looked inviting and had a attractive menu board outside. Great inside too cosy little cafe. The lady came and took our order who was really friendly so no complaints there. We ordered two breakfasts with a tea and a coffee,
When it came I was sort of disappointed the bacon was well overcooked and it wasn't what I was hoping for, so overall it was ok , I did notice though that they advertise roast meals everyday with all the different meats, Beef, Lamb, Pork, Chicken, which to me would have to mean microwave! perhaps not the meal I would go for , but having not tried it I can't comment, Having said all that the cafe was definitely busy so maybe I just caught a not so good brekkie!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paulsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murrayschicken, Public Relations Manager at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer, we are sorry that you were not happy with your breakfast on this visit, I am sure if you had mentioned this to the waitress Helen she would have arranged for some fresh bacon. We hope this did not put you off visiting us again. But thank you for your review which we always appreciate good or bad! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A great Sunday lunch
We booked Sunday lunch with some relatives. Our first time at the peppermill. No trouble in booking. Easy to find we parked right outside. A good selection from the lunch menu board. We all had the soup to start, a good choice homemade broccoli with a roll, everyone enjoyed
Mains were also well cooked and presented with plenty on the plates. So much so that none of us could order a desert (as much as I wanted to) the gooseberry tart really called out to me
I thought the service was first class and could see many of the other dinners were regulars and greeted by their first names and even asked if they were having the usual
They don’t have a licence to serve alcohol but you are welcome to bring your own and we could have slipped out and picked up a bottle
The cost was extremely reasonable with the four of us dining for £33 all in, incredible for two courses and drinks
We will defiantly return on our annual visit to Auntie Betty and Uncle Arthur in Southbourne next year (if not before we go home this time). A shame we don’t live closer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ukoneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

this is a very small, basic restaurant, but i wasn't expecting anything fancy so that's fine. i'd heard very good reports about this place from elderly people that i work with, however, myself & my mother were a little dissappointed with the standard of food.....we had the sunday roast pork & found it to be quite chewy, the vegetables weren't cooked enough & the only thing on the plate that was nice & hot were the roast potatoes. we had to wait a long time for our meal & we don't know why this was, it wasn't busy! the waitress was pleasant & friendly, the price was very reasonable. would i go there again or recommend to anyone? no

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lonnen477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peppermill Restaurant also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Peppermill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing