We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”
Review of The Print Room - CLOSED

The Print Room
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked a table for my daughter's hen do and 2 weeks before the restaurant informed us they had decided to have a great gatsby evening. We were able to keep the special menu for parties as everyone had already decided on their meal. Unfortunately I would not say that it is worth £30 especially if you are a vegetarian. My 2 daughters ordered the vegetarian option of trio of cheese croquettes and that literally is all you get! Someone ordered the chicken dish which came with chips, mushrooms and tomatoes, a whole plate full of food which certainly didn't compare with 3 croquettes!! Perhaps they think vegetarians don't want to eat very much!!! The starters are just a nibble and the Monkfish Curry is a VERY spicy watery dish and the puddings were very small indeed. Definitely not what I or any of us call a meal worth £30, unless you eat chicken, even then it's expensive for what you get. It was a shame that it was a theme night as we had chosen the Print Room especially as we had 2 girls under 18, which meant they could stay for the whole evening and be able to join in with the music and dancing after the meal. Unfortunately the music stayed in the 1920's ALL evening and didn't go down very well with anyone. 6 of the party left after the meal because they didn't want to stay where they couldn't dance. A shame they couldn't have reverted to the DJ after midnight so that we could have at least had a dance. All in all I do not think this restaurant deserves the prices they charge. The waiting staff were not very friendly, apart from one very nice young man! We couldn't manage to keep a bottle of water on the table, as soon as we ordered one they just put some in a glass and then took it back! Obviously they want you to order alcohol and not drink free tap water! We had to ask several times for water, which tends to spoil it if you keep having to ask the staff for something and they don't seem very keen to give it to you. I would not go back, which is a shame as with a younger daughter (17) it would be somewhere we could all go as a family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 87fraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Manager at The Print Room, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are all sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our 1920s Great Gatsby night as much as our other guests did, we tried very hard to make your evening special. However, we appreciate your feedback about service, staff and food.
If you would like to discuss your experience with us directly please do not hesitate to contact us on info@theprintroom-bournemouth.co.uk.
Kind regards,
The Print Room Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    130
    98
    80
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch at The Print Room”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I returned to The Print Room yesterday for lunch. I had not been there for about six months. What a massive improvement from my last visit. The last time I went there the food was not up to the standard that I had expected, however yesterday the food was amazing. The service was brilliant and all the staff there were friendly and had smiles on their faces. Im not 100% certain why there has been such an improvement but I would put it down to the new General Manager Simon Scarborough who has recently been appointed and who has obviously made a massive diffference.
If you have never been to The Print Room then I would highly recommend it. The setting is brillant, lovely and light and airy with beautiful chanderliers. They have some nice private booths as well as open plan tables - the seating is very comfortable. They do a set lunch menu or you can choose off the main menu. We opted to go for the muscles and they were beautiful. They were really fresh and lovely and big. The muscles came with a side portion of french fries to mope the wonderful sauce up with. I then had to opt for the warm chocolate mouse dessert with clotted cream icecream - OMG it was to die for! The selection on the menu is really good. The food came very quickly and we were in and out within 3/4 of an hour - ideal for a business lunch but also for lunch with friends. The food is very reasonably priced and I can honestly say is now of the highest standard of quality. I think that I may well become more of a regular to The Print Room as I enjoyed my lunch so much. The evening dinner menu looked great as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrygirl099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Manager at The Print Room, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
The Pint Room Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very slow service average food”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lovely setting let down by slow service and average food.

It took 30 mins from sitting down to getting a drink on a quiet evening.

Ribs are good, monkfish curry small and average,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MatSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Manager at The Print Room, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TA. We take all comments on board and will definitely look at the quality of food and speed of service.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
The Print Room Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Dined here - Lunchtime, Friday 9th August 2013. It used to be so good but something has gone terribly wrong since last visit. Service hit and miss. Some seemed to enjoy their job (guy in bright coloured shirt / spectacles - jolly) (women a little frosty/cold). Starters ordered 1 wrong, given soup and not squid. Staff did rectify immediately but the Restaurant was not busy so difficult to see how staff got it wrong. Toilets disgusting - it looked liked they had not been cleaned for a couple of days and to be honest seen cleaner public toilets in recent times. Water marks on plates, glasses and cutlery and dirty fork with food on it under the table left from previous occupant. Prices high , £7.50 for a very small squid starter. Final bill wrong, had to question and then received correct bill. Small mistakes I know but there seemed to be several small mistakes one after the other.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, General Manager at The Print Room, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your lunch with us last Friday.
We are sorry that you found your experience unsatisfactory but thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We are continually endeavouring to improve our services and welcome all feedback especially negative as this gives us an opportunity to further improve our services.
Regards
Simon Scarborough General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“nice,quiet visit with excellent food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Polite service, good food and pleasant surroundings.
A lot quieter than the adjacent bar and a large, modern dining area make this a great place for large groups but equally for couples.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, General Manager at The Print Room, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your comments are appreciated. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Simon Scarborough General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Print Room also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing