We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag...”
Review of The Print Room - CLOSED

The Print Room
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have visited The Print Room on three seperate occasions.

The first time was superb, we were seated in the booth area, and had a booth to ourselves (this is recommended as the restaurant is large, and the booth gives intimacy). Food was lovely, and service good.

The second time we brought our parents, as the first time was so nice, and this visit wasn't as successful. We were a party of 6 and were crammed into a seating area, that would comfortably seat 4. Service was good, but the food lacked the quality of before. For a example dry chips and chicken.

Failing that we went a third time, only to be disappointed by the food again. We asked for a steak medium to rare and they came out rare. My partners pudding (a trio of chocolate dessert priced at £8) was dry and mousse had split unfortunately. We were also sat right in the middle of the restaurant after on a table which would seat 4. On booking my partner was informed that the only times available were 6:00pm and 9:00pm. We booked the 9:00pm slot only to turn up to a half booked restaurant?

It's such a shame as the decor and service is lovely, so much so that it obviously made us want to go back there. I am unsure whether we will try again to restore our faith.

I wouldnt want to put anyone off going, it is definitely worth a try for yourself. But a mixed bag in my opinion.

C. Wilson

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Calley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Public Relations Manager at The Print Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It is our policy at The Print Room to deal with each comment properly and on an individual basis. We take all comments extremely seriously and would therefore like to speak with you personally in regard to this matter. Please would you contact us on the following email address hannah@theprintroom-bournemouth.co.uk Kind regards, The Print Room Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 544 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Bit of a mixed bag- elegant decor makes for a nice ambience but the food didn't quite deliver. Reading the menu made my mouth water, it all sounded fabulous. Out of the 6 of us dining three dishes were very good but mains of belly pork, confit duck and the daily special (roast beef) were generally well cooked and tasty but not hot enough; the kale and spinach were cold. We did ask the waiter to bring this to the attention of the kitchen but we received no feedback. The Yorkshire pudding was too hard to eat, possibly over-microwaved. No house wine available, the cheapest bottle of red wine was £20 however the Pinotage we ordered was delicious and well worth it's £21 price tag. Our waiter was charming but as he seemed to be covering the whole restaurant himself wasn't as attentive as he should or could have been. We used our Taste Card giving us 50% discount off the food which kind of mitigated the disappointments but at full price would have been unacceptable. Maybe we caught it on an off day, the interior certainly has the 'wow factor' but the food didn't quite match up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shezerado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Public Relations Manager at The Print Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It is our policy at The Print Room to deal with each comment properly and on an individual basis. We take all comments extremely seriously and would therefore like to speak with you personally in regard to this matter. Please would you contact us on the following email address hannah@theprintroom-bournemouth.co.uk Kind regards, The Print Room Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Looked really nice, fancy decor and menu, sadly average in terms of quality and service - and this was at lunch time when they weren't that busy

Thank KJx_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Public Relations Manager at The Print Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It is our policy at The Print Room to deal with each comment properly and on an individual basis. We take all comments extremely seriously and would therefore like to speak with you personally in regard to this matter. Please would you contact us on the following email address hannah@theprintroom-bournemouth.co.uk Kind regards, The Print Room Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant is in a great location and has a great atmosphere. The second time we've been there we had a voucher from Table Pouncer and the food was a big let down. The scallops were rubbery and the sea bass portion was like a quarter of a fillet over the broth/vegetables it comes with. The rice pudding was similar to what you get in a supermarket. Definitely I wouldn't go back and pay full price for the food given. The service is great but they need to invest more in their chefs / ingredients...or reduce their prices!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrDegiorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Public Relations Manager at The Print Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It is our policy at The Print Room to deal with each comment properly and on an individual basis. We take all comments extremely seriously and would therefore like to speak with you personally in regard to this matter. Please would you contact us on the following email address hannah@theprintroom-bournemouth.co.uk Kind regards, The Print Room Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A pleasant, airy interior, friendly service, shocking food. I had stopped by at this brasserie a couple of times before so I thought it should be a safe bet. I ordered the vegetarian risotto but it arrived barely warm and it didnt taste right. In fact, it tasted predominant of mayonnaise (you know, that rich mix of oil, vinegar and egg) and not a particularly fresh one at that, as I was feeling nauseaous later in the day. A frugal sprinkling of vegetable bits served no more than decorative effect - and I'm no fan of Michelin portions for brasserie food. Of course, I should have returned it or just walked out but my partner had already returned her dish twenty minutes earlier - chicken, which was also disappointing - and I didnt want to spoil it for her. We did arrive at 3pm on a Sunday, when most people were munching into their roast beef, or arriving for afternoon tea, but that should be no excuse. Some live jazz and wine lifted the mood, a little.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestBeachBournemouth, Public Relations Manager at The Print Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. It is our policy at The Print Room to deal with each comment properly and on an individual basis. We take all comments extremely seriously and would therefore like to speak with you personally in regard to this matter. Please would you contact us on the following email address hannah@theprintroom-bournemouth.co.uk Kind regards, The Print Room Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Print Room also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing