We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B, convenient for railway station”
Review of Amarillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amarillo
Ranked #32 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Pais de Gales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B, convenient for railway station”
Reviewed February 4, 2009

This is a lovely homely B&B with a touch of designer style, clean and nicely decorated. The single room I had was quite small but it had everything you could have wanted. The welcome from Rob was very friendly. Breakfast was served in the very pleasant front room and tasted great.

The hotel is in a quiet street opposite some gardens. If you don't fancy going into the middle of Bournemouth to eat, there is a good pub restaurant only a short walk away.

I stayed here the night before catching a morning flight from Bournemouth Airport. Arriving by train, it was very easy to reach the Amarillo - 5 minutes' walk on the flat from the railway station. The shuttle bus to the airport also leaves from outside the railway station on the hour, so it was ideal.

  • Liked — Stylish B&B at reasonable rates
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    17
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
77
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

My boyfriend and I went down to Bournemouth to the BIC to see Scouting for Girls. He was responsible for booking the hotel so I was slightly nervous!! However he came through! This is a true gem. We stayed in the top front room. The welcome was great. Paul, who runs the B&B, was very friendly and obviously has put his heart and soul in getting the place to the standard it is. It's very clean, quiet and in a lovely location. I also remember the breakfast being yummy - real sausages, none of your 5% meat variety!

Would recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and spacious room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Had 4 nights for the price of 3 at the best small hotel we have been to,in a quiet road with a nice room and a good breakfast,even the weather was good,hope to go back in the new year.

  • Liked — Cleanliness,informal,good bedroom,the breakfast,close to beach and town but quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSandBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Location is excellent, the hotel is very clean & the hosts are very friendly.

The décor is good & Breakfasts are simply amazing.

Room sizes were average & facilities limited. Stairs and floor boards are creaky but I guess that is the same for most homes in this age bracket.

The biggest let down was that I asked if they had internet & while they had internet, it was very poor connectivity.

Overall one of the better B&B's I've stayed at.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & Excellent service
  • Disliked — Services (internet & limited facilities)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leoofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Had a wonderful stay. The rooms comfortable, clean and very homely.
The breakfast was amazing!
The owners -very hospitable and helpful in every. way.

Had a great time and looking forward to going again.

  • Liked — space and hygiene
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mablethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Bit worried about staying in a B&B as had horrible memories of 1980's B&B's with fusty smelling rooms and old fashioned facilities, but all my fears disappeared as soon as we entered. The place is light and airy with a very modern feel. It was incredibly clean and very homely. I felt immediately relaxed and had a wonderful 2 days. I travelled alone and felt very safe and happy here. The owners were very welcoming and happy to give information about the area without being intrusive. Thank you for a great stay - I'm hoping to be back in the new year.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holaddictYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed at the Amarillo Hotel whilst in Bournemouth for a few days for our friends' wedding.

The hotel room was spacious, clean and very well equipped. with a flat screen TV, DVD player and tea & coffee making facilities.

The owners of the hotel were extremely friendly, attentive and welcoming and served a mean breakfast!

The hotel is ideally situated and is close to all amenities.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and would definately stay there again, the next time I am in Bournemouth.

Many thanks!

Claire Jackson
London

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Limited bathroom space
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairemjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#41 of 132 in Bournemouth
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandy Bay Guest House
Sandy Bay Guest House
#34 of 132 in Bournemouth
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#45 of 132 in Bournemouth
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#27 of 132 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarillo

Property: Amarillo
Address: 52 Frances Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarillo 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideally situated guest house in a quite area just opposite the award winning Knyveton Gardens with Tennis Courts,Bowling Greens and Petanque. We are within easy walking distance of the beach, train station and the town centre. The Amarillo is non-smoking establishment. We offer you a comfortable and relaxing stay in a lovingly restored Victorian House with a contemporary ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing