We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of La Gondola - CLOSED

La Gondola
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Hollywoods Diner serving american style diner food from 9am to 11pm daily with full bar.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Varied menu,fresh in season veg,reasonable prices.
Deserves the ratings and reviews given by others.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunstablechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    38
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian Cooking”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I regularly visit this local Italian restaurant just off The Lansdowne in Bournemouth.
Luca does the cooking and prepares typical Italian dishes including pizza, pasta, meat and fish.
We particularly like the Pizza Gondola which includes Palma ham and rocket topping. The house wine is very good and the service excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GranddadBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Dining.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited this restaurant during a short break to Bournemouth and had a very enjoyable evening.After a portion of olives and bread and oil,we enjoyed starters of minestrone soup and mussels in a tomato sauce,which were fat, juicy and beautifully cooked.We then had a middle course of a selection of different seafood- whitebait,king prawns and sardines,all full of flavour and beautifully cooked.For our main courses we ordered a home made cannelloni,piping hot and tasty,and a veal escalope accompanied by spaghetti Napoli .We were served throughout the evening by a lovely Russian waitress who gave us lovely service and attended to our needs perfectly.All in all,a lovely enjoyable evening - perfect food with fantastic service all at reasonable prices.Certainly a place to recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Italian”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

visited the la gondola on a short break to bournemouth . Had a lovely meal.fish and shell fish to start a nice minestrone as a middle then veal as a main , washed down with rose , and finished off with cheese and port .we were served by a lovely waitress from Moscow by the name of evgeniya as a chef and landlord of a very busy pub in Winchester the crown which specialises in seafood I was very impressed with her service .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davec507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and Ambiance”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We found this restaurant on line and read the reviews and decided to give it a try on our weekend trip to Bournemouth.
What an amazing experience!!!!!!!!!

The staff were welcoming and attentive , the live music (saxophonist and guitarist ) played at a level that did not interfere with conversation increasing the ambiance of the restaurant.

Food quality and value for money was exceptional, especially the set menu deal. The house wine which was exceedingly good at only £9.50 per bottle completed an amazing dining experience.
This restaurant understands customer service and should be ranked much higher in our opinion.

Brian & Jane

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gondola also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing